Oklahoma, www.OK.gov
Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training - Home
spacer image
Skip Nav Skip to Search
Contact  |  CLEET Calendar
spacer image
get adobe reader
email icon Email   |   print icon Print  
Private Investigators

New License Applicants

 Below are the items you will need to complete a new application. 

  * For a new application go to the CLEET forms page
  * Certified court Judgment and Sentence or letter of no record for each arrest and/or charge, if applicable. (All questions on page 2 must be answered).  
  * To comply with CLEETs fingerprint requirement, please schedule an appointment with Identogo. Please refer to https://cleettraining.articulate-online.com/2751632181 for scheduling instructions.  
  * Two (2) current, passport size color photographs. Paper or plastic photos will NOT be accepted.  
  * Record request completed by BOTH your local police department and sheriff department.
  * Letter of Employment (if applicable) or Bond/Insurance.  
  * Agency Application (Required if self-employed Private Investigator).  
  * Documented proof of experience or comparable training.    
  * Required fee in the form of  money order, company check or cashier's check only. Personal checks will not be accepted. 
  * If not a United States Citizen, verifiable documentation of legal residence.  
  *A current MMPI (armed license only).  


In general, the cost for a Private Investigator license is:

Unarmed Private Investigator   $50
Armed Private Investigator    $100
Combination License (PI & Security)    $150


Required Training


License Renewals

The Private Investigator license issued by C.L.E.E.T. is a three (3) year and expires exactly three (3) years from the issued date.  To renew a license the holder must provide a renewal application and submit to C.L.E.E.T. no more than thirty (30) days after expiration. If the license has been expired for more than thirty (30) days a new licensing application will be required.

Renewal Fees:  

Late Fee
(Up to 30 days expired)
Unarmed Private Investigator $50 $25
Armed Private Investigator $100 $25
Armed Guard and Armed Private Investigator (Combination) $150 $25


390:35-5-13. Notification of change of name or address or telephone number

(a) Private investigators, armed security guards, and unarmed security guards shall maintain, with the Council, current residential addresses and shall notify in writing the Council of any change of name. Notification of change of name shall include copies of any marriage license or court document which reflects the change of name. Notice of change of address or telephone number must be made within ten (10) days of the effected change. Notices will not be accepted over the phone or through fax.




Last updated/reviewed June 27, 2017


Security Guards

Self-Defense Act (SDA) Instructors

Polygraph Examiners

Private Security Advisory Committee

Guidelines for Continuing Education Credit

Oklahoma Private Investigators Association

Rules governing Private Investigators and Investigative Agencies


Agency Information

Agency Application 

Career Tech Locations (Map)

Approved Guard & Investigator Continuing Education Classes

Approved Guard & Investigator Training Programs

Continuing Education Requirements for Guards and Investigators

Course Accreditation Packet