THIS GUIDE PROVIDES YOU INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR
RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES UNDER OKLAHOMA'S LEMON LAW.

WHAT ARE A
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WHICH VEHICLES ARE
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COVERED? CANNOT BE FIXED AFTER
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INFORMAL DISPUTE

RESOLUTION

Before the Lemon Law applies, you must try informal

W }_I/ AT S HOU LD YO F]‘ DO : dispute resolution if the manufacturer has a procedure
IF YOU THINK TH A"T YOU which complies with federal law, Read your warranty or
BOUGHT A LEMON? owner’s manual to find out if the manufacturer has a proce-

dure,

A ct fast! You must report the defect
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the term of the warranty, or during the period of one

year following the date of original delivery of the mo- O KLAHO M S LE MON L AW

tor vehicle, whichever is earlier.

You must take the vehicle back ro give the manu- YOUR RI GHT S AN D

facturer, manufacture’s agent or dealer a “reasonable

number of attempts” to fix the problem. RE S P O N S I B I LITI E S



REASONABLE ALLOWANCE
FOR CONSUMER’S USE OF

THE VEHICLE

T 'he law provides a formula for reasonable
allowance for use:

» 'The purchase or lease price multiplied by a
fraction having as the denominator one hun-
dred rwenty thousand (120,000) miles and
having as the numerator the miles directly

attributable to use by the consumer beyond
15,000 miles.

For example, suppose a consumer bought 3-¢ar
and paid $15,000 then drove it 17,000 miles. The
consumer can hgure the reasonable use allowance
this way:

2000
120,000° =1/60ch

1/60¢ch of $15,000 is $250

L 2000 miles over 15,000 miles driven is the numera-
tof.

9 "
* Denominaror set by the [aw.

HOW CAN | PROTECT
MYSELE?

Tt is important when you buy a new vehicle to read
the owner’s manual and warranty and follow mainte-
nance guidelines.

Alsao, keep detailed and dated maintenance records,
including warranty work,

Werite down a list of problems and defects that you
observe with your vehicle and give the written list to cthe
technician when yon take the vehicle in for repairs, even

if you are t:akin_g it back for the same problem.

Ger and keep copies of repair orders and make sure
they detail work done and how long the vehicle was in
the sho p for the repairs.

WHAT HAPPENS TO
VEHICLES THAT ARE
RETURNED UNDER LEMON

LAW PROCEDURES?

Vehicles recurned may not be resold in Oklahoma
unless:

> the manufacturer provides the same warranty
provided to the original purchaser, except that
the term of the warranty need only last for
12,000 miles or 12 months after the date of
resale, whichever is earlier; or

»  the manufacturer, through the licensed dealer,
provide—s the consumer with a written state-
ment on a separate piece of paper that clearly
discloses the reason or reasons the vehicle was
reacquired by the manufaceurer,

However, no returned vehicles shall be resold if it
was returned pursuant to the Oklahoma Lemon Law
ot a similar law in another state because of a defect
resulting in a complete failure of the braking or steering
system likely to cause deach or serious bodily injury if
the vehicle is driven,

The manufacturer must cause reacquired vehicles
that were registered in Oklahoma to be retitled. Fur-
ther, the manufacturer must request the Oklahoma Tax
Commission to place a “Lemon Law Buyback” notation
on the new certificate of title. This must be done before
the vehicle is sold, leased, transferred or exported to
another state for sale, lease or transfer,

DOES A STATE AGENCY
ENFORCE THE LEMON

LAW?

Nh state agency has enforcement authority aver
i the Lemon Law. If you feel that your rights
have been violated, contact a private attorney for advice.
In any civil action pursuant to Section 2 of the Lemon
Law, the court may order attorneys fees and costs to a
consumer whao prevails in the case.
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