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BULLETIN NO. PC 2004-05 
 
TO:      ALL PROPERTY AND CASUALTY INSURERS LICENSED IN OKLAHOMA 
                ATTENTION: STATE FILING DIVISION 
 
FROM:    CARROLL FISHER, INSURANCE COMMISSIONER 
 
RE:          HB 2470 INCREASING THE FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY LIMITS OF 

LIABILITY ARISING OUT OF THE OWNERSHIP, MAINTENANCE OR 
USE OF A VEHICLE 

 
DATE:     August 16, 2004    
 
 
PURPOSE OF THIS BULLETIN 
 
On May 28, 2004, Governor Brad Henry signed into law House Bill 2470.  As a 
result of HB 2470, Oklahoma’s minimum compulsory automotive liability limits 
will increase from $10,000 per person/$20,000 per accident/$10,000 for damaged 
property per accident (10/20/10) to 25/50/25.  Insurance Commissioner Carroll 
Fisher’s office has received several inquiries from insurers, producers and other 
Oklahoma consumers with questions about the bill.  This bulletin will answer the 
most common questions. 
 
1. What is the effective date of the increase in the minimum limits? 

The effective date is April 1, 2005 for new or renewal policies written on or after 
that date.  Any new or renewal policy written prior to the date may have the 
previous minimum limits.  
Example: The private passenger auto policy is effective March 15, 2005 and will 
not expire until August 15, 2005. The policy effective March 15th will be issued 
with limits of liability of 10/20/10 while the August 15, 2005 policy will be issued 
with 25/50/25.  
Example: For those private passenger auto policies issued with limits of liability 
in excess of 25/50/25, there will be no effect because of the changes contained 
in HB 2470.  
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2. Does the financial responsibility law apply to all motorized vehicles?  

No. Pursuant to Title 47, Section 7-302, proof of financial responsibility is 
required to respond to damages for liability arising out of the ownership, 
maintenance or use of a vehicle of a type subject to registration under the laws of 
Oklahoma.  

 
3. Does this increase in the financial responsibility law mandate a rate and/or 
manual rule filing be made with the State Board for Property and Casualty Rates 
and/or the Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner? 

The currently approved manual of many insurance companies already includes 
increased limits factors for the 25/50/25 limits of liability. Therefore, these 
companies do not need to make a filing for this option. These companies may 
wish to eliminate the option for the 10/20/10 limits or change their base rates to 
the 25/50/25 level in their next regularly scheduled rate filing.  
The insurance companies who do not have increased limits factors for 25/50/25 
in their currently approved manuals must file the new increased limits factor as 
with all new rating factors with the Property and Casualty Division of the 
Oklahoma Insurance Department.  

 
4. What happens with existing uninsured motorist coverage policies that are less 
than 25/50 for bodily injury? 

On the first renewal on or after April 1, 2005, the insurer shall increase the 
amount of uninsured coverage to 25/50 per occurrence and charge the 
corresponding premium to policyholders who have selected this coverage.  
Insurers shall inform policyholders of this change to the UM coverage, and the 
notice shall inform policyholders that they may either reject UM coverage or 
choose a higher amount.   

 
5. What happens with policyholders who have rejected uninsured motorist 
coverage prior to April 1, 2005? 
 Those policyholders are not required to receive any type of notice. 
 
6. What happens with policyholders who have selected uninsured motorist 
coverage greater than or equal to 25/50 for a new or renewal policy prior to April 
1, 2005? 
 Those policyholders are not required to receive any type of notice. 
 
7. What happens to the uninsured motorist coverage form? 

For new or renewal acceptance or rejection of UM coverage prior to April 1, 
2005, the old form will be used.  For new or renewal acceptance or rejection of 
UM coverage on or after April 1, 2005, the new form added to Section 3636 of 
the Insurance Code will be used. 
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8. Will the Oklahoma Insurance Department prepare a new template for the 
uninsured motorist acceptance/rejection form? 

No. The language for the new form is contained in 36 O.S. § 3636. The new form 
must be filed with the Property and Casualty Division of the Oklahoma Insurance 
Department for approval as with all policy forms and endorsements.  

 
9. What is the effective date of the coverage increase for rental cars and taxis? 
 November 1, 2004. 
  
10. What are the statutes containing the changes? 

HB 2470 affects 36 O.S. § 3636, 47 O.S. §§ 7-204, 7-324, 8-101, 8-104, 425 and 
70 O.S. § 1210.43.  Oklahoma statutes are online at www.oscn.net under the 
heading “Legal Research.” 
 

11. Can an insurance company use the liberalization clause to increase the limits 
of liability during the policy period? 

No. The liberalization clause is designed to minimize the need for an insurance 
company to issue endorsements or new policy forms to update coverages during 
a policy term. It states that if the insurer makes a contractual revision during the 
policy term, which broadens coverage without an additional premium 
requirement, the broader coverage will automatically apply to all outstanding 
policies. The liberalization clause is also referred to as Changes and generally 
can be found in the General Provisions portion of an auto policy. 
 
An additional premium charge will undoubtedly be associated with an increase in 
the financial responsibility requirements from 10/20/10 to 25/50/25; therefore it 
does not meet this standard of the liberalization clause. Furthermore, HB 2470 
does not require that the limits of liability be increased during the policy period.  

 
Questions applicable to those sections of HB2470 amending Title 47 – Oklahoma 
Motor Vehicle Code should be directed to Lonnie Jarman at 
LJarman@dps.state.ok.us of the Financial Responsibility Division of the 
Oklahoma Department of Public Safety, P. O. Box 11100, Oklahoma City, OK 
73136.  
 
Questions applicable to those sections of HB 2470 amending Title 36 – Oklahoma 
Insurance Code should be directed to kathiestepp@insurance.state.ok.us of the 
Property and Casualty Division, or robertnoll@insurance.state.ok.us of the Legal 
Division of the Oklahoma Insurance Department, P. O. Box 53408, Oklahoma City, 
OK  73152-3408.  
 
The Oklahoma Insurance Department encourages readers of this bulletin to 
periodically check the Department’s web site (www.oid.state.ok.us) for news and 
updates to Bulletins, Board Position Letters, Board meeting dates, and other 
relevant material.           


