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THIRD-PARTY ADMINISTRATORS (TPA) 

NEW LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

Effective November 1, 2014, the Oklahoma Insurance Department (OID) will require Third-Party 
Administrators (TPA) to file all new applications electronically per Title 36 O.S. Section 350, Title 36 O.S. 
Section 1450, and Order No. 14-0995-PRJ. 

OPTins Electronic filing instructions: 

• Register and/or Login with OPTins at www.optins.org or by calling 816-783-8990. NOTE: 
Registration can take up to two (2) weeks to complete.  

• Once registered, select the “Filings” tab, then “Create Filing,” enter the filing year, select 
“Oklahoma Regulated Entities” as the state, and choose either “Third Party Administrator (firm) or 
(individual)” as the Company Type. Note: use firm if filing for a company and individual for an 
individual. 

• Download the new license form, complete, and then upload it along with all other required 
documentation. See required item list below. 

• Proceed to the payment screen to submit your payment 

The following items are required for the Electronic TPA New Application filing: 
 

• Completed Online New Corporate Application 
• National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Biographical Affidavits- required 

for officers, directors, key management and any person acquiring ten percent (10%) or more controlling 
interest in any TPA. Per TITLE 36 O.S. § 1450 (C) and TITLE 36 O.S. § 615.2. The Affidavits can be 
obtained from the NAIC website at: http://www.naic.org/industry_ucaa.htm.  UCAA Form 11. 

• Third-Party Vendors for Background Reports (in addition to the NAIC Biographical Affidavits) - 
TITLE 36 O.S. § 615.2 requires The Biographical Affidavit to be certified by an independent third party. The 
statute defines "independent third party" as “…one that has no affiliation with the applicant and is in the 
business of providing background checks or investigations”. 

** “The Business Character Report must be current and shall not be older than one (1) year.” ** 
Link for approved Third-Party Vendors:  http://www.naic.org/industry_ucaa.htm 

• One Bond in an amount not less than Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000) made payable to the 
People of Oklahoma – The bond form is available in OPTins and our website. Please see O.A.C. 365:25-
3-12(f) for the rules on bond amounts. 

Link to Rule: http://www.ok.gov/oid/documents/PER%20C25%20with%20Appendices.pdf (scroll down in 
the body of the document to find rule 365:25-3-12, subsection f.) 

• Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws or Articles of Organization and Operating Agreement 
• Certificate of Authority from the Oklahoma State Secretary- (405-521-3912). Demonstrating the 

Entity has filed and has been approved by the Oklahoma Secretary of State to operate in Oklahoma. 
• Proof of Third Party Licensure in Home State. If home state does not license TPAs please designate 

another state that has adopted the Third-party Administrator Act or a substantially similar law governing third-
party administrators and please provide proof the TPA is licensed in that state. Please see TITLE 36 O.S. § 
1450(B) for home state requirements. 

• Fees: Each license requires a $100 fee. ($100 for the individual application and $100 for the corporate 
application) NOTE: There is an electronic processing fee assessed by OPTins. 

 

All questions regarding OPTins will need to be directed to OPTins at 816-783-8990. All other 
questions will continue to be directed to the Oklahoma Insurance Department, Financial Division, 
DeAnn Robinson, 405-521-6648. 
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