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SUBCHAPTER 5. BAIL BONDSMEN  

 

PART 5. GENERAL PROVISIONS PERTAINING TO BAIL BONDSMEN  

 

365:25-5-30. Definitions  
The following words or terms, when used in this Part, shall have the following meaning, 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"High school diploma or equivalent" The equivalent of a high school diploma, as 

described by 59 O.S. §1305(A)(8), shall be the successful completion of all parts of the General 

Educational Development program or completion of a similar program authorized and approved 

by the Oklahoma State Department of Education. An applicant shall provide documentation that 

the Oklahoma State Department of Education considers the applicant's educational qualifications 

to be the equivalent of a high school diploma if necessary.  

"Limited surety agent" means any individual who is duly licensed by the 

Commissioner and is appointed by an insurer by power of attorney to execute or countersign bail 

bonds in connection with judicial proceedings and receives or is promised money or other things 

of value.  

"Premium" means a sum of money charged by the bail bondsman for services rendered 

on behalf of the principal. Nothing in this section shall be construed to include collateral security 

received by the bail bondsman in the definition of premium.  

 

[Source: Added at 10 Ok Reg 1483, eff 5-1-93l; Amended at 25 Ok Reg 1660, eff 7-14-2008]  

 

365:25-5-31. Information to be included on applications  
(a) Original and renewal applications shall include the applicant's:  

(1) residence address,  

(2) business address,  

(3) mailing address, 

(4) e-mail address, 

(5) telephone number, and 

(6) legal name. 

(b) An applicant's business address and mailing address shall be in the same county.  

  

[Source: Added at 10 Ok Reg 1483, eff 5-1-93; Amended at 31 Ok Reg 1901, eff 9-15-14; 

Amended at 32 Ok Reg 1963, eff 9-15-15]  

 

365:25-5-32. Examination fees  
A fee of One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) is required before an applicant may take the bail 

bondsman examination. An additional One Hundred Dollar ($100.00) examination fee is 

required for each subsequent examination as described in 59 O.S. §1308.  

 

[Source: Added at 10 Ok Reg 1483, eff 5-1-93]  
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365:25-5-33. Change of mailing address, legal name, e-mail address, or telephone 

requirements  
(a) 59 O.S. §1310 requires bail bondsmen to notify the Insurance Commissioner within five (5) 

days after a change of mailing address, legal name, e-mail address, or telephone number. This 

notification must include:  

(1) name and license number of the bondsman,  

(2) date of the notification,  

(3) the bondsman's current telephone number, and 

(4) the bondsman’s current e-mail address.  

(b) This notification may be in any form acceptable to the Insurance Commissioner.   

 

[Source: Added at 10 Ok Reg 1483, eff 5-1-93; Amended at 31 Ok Reg 1902, eff 9-15-14]  

 

365:25-5-34. Professional bondsman deposits  
(a) A bondsman making an initial deposit required by 59 O.S. §§ 1306 or 1306.1, shall deliver 

the deposit to the office of the Insurance Commissioner in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. The 

bondsman shall appear in person at the office of the Insurance Commissioner to execute an 

assignment or pledge of the deposit as instructed by 59 O.S. § 1306.  

(b) A bondsman making an additional deposit required by 59 O.S. §§ 1306 or 1306.1, or 

replacing any portion of a deposit, may mail an executed assignment or pledge of the deposit to 

the Insurance Commissioner via certified mail.  The additional or replaced deposit amount will 

not be added or included in the professional or multicounty agent bail bondsman's deposit total 

until the additional or replaced deposit amount is received, processed, and accepted by the 

Oklahoma Insurance Department staff. 

(c) The phrase "required level," as described by 59 O.S. § 1332 (D)(4)(b), shall be the 

bondsman's amount on deposit prior to a forfeiture payment. A bondsman shall make a deposit 

equal to the amount withdrawn by the Commissioner following the Commissioner's withdrawal 

of professional or multicounty agent securities to pay a bond forfeiture. The deposit shall be 

made within ten (10) days from receipt of the withdrawal notice or mailing of the notice if no 

receipt is made. The bondsman shall follow the provisions of paragraph (a) of this section for the 

deposit.  

 

[Source: Added at 10 Ok Reg 1483, eff 5-1-93; Amended at 14 Ok Reg 2307, eff 7-1-97; 

Amended at 19 Ok Reg 1325, eff 7-14-02; Amended at 25 Ok Reg 1660, eff 7-14-2008 

Amended at 29 Ok Reg 1295, eff 7-14-12; Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1719, eff 9-15-16]  

 

365:25-5-35. Bondsman license renewal  
(a) Pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1309, bondsmen are required to renew their licenses biennially. 

Requirements for a complete renewal filing for a bondsman shall be submitted by the last day of 

the bondsman’s birth month and must include a Two Hundred Dollar ($200.00) renewal fee.   

(b) Failure to complete the renewal process by the last day of the bondsman’s birth month will 

result in an automatic expiration of the license.  After the expiration, the license may be 

reinstated for up to one (1) year following the expiration date. If after the one (1) year date, the 
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license has not been renewed, then the licensee shall be required to apply for a license as a new 

applicant. 

(c) All licenses of bail bondsmen shall expire on the last day of the bondsman’s birth month 

unless the Commissioner receives a complete renewal filing. A complete renewal filing consists 

of all necessary items required by paragraph (a) of this section as well as any other items 

required by the Commissioner. 

(d) If the license has not been renewed by the expiration date, a bail bondsman shall not be 

authorized to continue acting as a bail bondsman. 

 

[Source: Added at 10 Ok Reg 1483, eff 5-1-93; Amended at 15 Ok Reg 265, eff 10/17/97 

(emergency); Amended at 15 Ok Reg 1401, eff 7/1/98; Amended at 25 Ok Reg 1660, eff 7-14-

2008; Amended at 28 Ok Reg 1964, eff 7-14-11; Amended at 29 Ok Reg 1296, eff 7-14-12; 

Amended at 30 Ok Reg 1800, eff 7-14-13]  

 

365:25-5-36. Monthly reports  
(a) Bail bondsmen are required to submit monthly reports to the Insurance Commissioner within 

fifteen (15) days after the end of each preceding month pursuant to 59 O.S. §1314. All bondsmen 

must submit a report for each component of the license held, even if no bonds were written under 

any particular component during that month. The types of licenses include:  

(1) cash,  

(2) surety,  

(3) property,  

(4) professional, and 

(5) multicounty agent.  

(b) Bondsmen must submit a monthly report for:  

(1) each company, professional bondsman, or multicounty agent bondsman with which 

he/she is appointed, whether or not any bonds were written on that surety during that 

month;  

(2) each company, professional bondsman, or multicounty agent bondsman with which 

he/she has an outstanding liability, even though the appointment has been canceled; and  

(3) each company, professional bondsman, or multicounty agent bondsman with which 

he/she has an outstanding liability even though the surety is no longer active in the bail 

bond business.  

 

[Source: Added at 10 Ok Reg 1483, eff 5-1-93; Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1719, eff 9-15-16]  

 

365:25-5-37. Usual and customary records  
(a) Every bail bondsman shall maintain records at his/her place of business for a period of three 

(3) years immediately following the date the bondsman's liability on the bond is discharged by 

the court or the date collateral is returned to its lawful owner, whichever is later.  

(b) If an appearance bond is never executed and filed with the court, then all records shall be 

maintained for three (3) years immediately following the date the document is prepared.  

(c) Records shall be readily available for inspection to the Commissioner at any time during 

business hours and shall include, but not be limited to:  



OAC 365:25                                                                                    INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 

 

4 

 

(1) bail bond application,  

(2) indemnity agreement,  

(3) promissory note,  

(4) credit agreement,  

(5) copies of deeds or mortgages received or released,  

(6) description of personal properties received or released,  

(7) accounting of monies received and receipted,  

(8) copy of appearance bond,  

(9) copy of individually numbered power of attorney,  

(10) picture of defendant, and  

(11) bank records on escrow accounts.  

 

[Source: Added at 10 Ok Reg 1483, eff 5-1-93; Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1719, eff 9-15-16]  

 

365:25-5-38. Ten defendant limit  
Pursuant to 59 O.S. §1320, a bondsman is authorized to write bonds on up to ten 

defendants per year, January 1 through December 31, in each county outside his resident county. 

For purposes of determining the ten defendants, the bondsman shall consider each date a bond or 

bonds are written on a defendant as being one of the ten defendants, not withstanding any 

previous bonds which have been written on that same individual. The ten defendant limit does 

not apply in counties without a registered bondsman in said county.  

 

[Source: Added at 10 Ok Reg 1483, eff 5-1-93; Amended at 30 Ok Reg 1800, eff 7-14-13]  

 

365:25-5-39. Affidavit as to undertaking 

An Affidavit as to Undertaking shall be included on every appearance bond and shall 

declare the amount of premium (consideration) and security (collateral) received or promised. It 

shall further include the nature and description of, and the name of the person from whom it was 

received or promised. Information provided on the Affidavit as to Undertaking shall correspond 

with the information contained in the following: 

(1) appearance bond, 

(2) bondsman's office records, and 

(3) monthly report. 

 

[Source: Added at 10 Ok Reg 1483, eff 5-1-93; Amended at 27 Ok Reg 1551, eff 7-14-10]  

 

365:25-5-40. Computation of time in 59 O.S. §1332 

(a) In computing any period of time in 59 O.S. §1332, 12 O.S. §2006(A) will be followed. 12 

O.S. §2006(A) states, in pertinent part, as follows: The day of the act, event, or default from 

which the designated period of time begins to run shall not be included. The last day of the 

period so computed shall be included, unless it is a legal holiday as defined by Section 82.1 of 

Title 25 of the Oklahoma Statutes or any other day when the office of the court clerk does not 

remain open for public business until the regularly scheduled closing time, in which event the 

period runs until the end of the next day which is not a legal holiday or a day when the office of 
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the court clerk does not remain open for public business until the regularly scheduled closing 

time. Unless otherwise provided by law, when the period of time prescribed or allowed is less 

than eleven (11) days, intermediate legal holidays and any other day when the office of the court 

clerk does not remain open for public business until the regularly scheduled closing time shall be 

excluded from the computation. 

(b) The defendant shall be returned to custody within ninety days or the forfeiture shall be paid 

on the ninety-first day, and the time begins to run as follows: 

(1) If the bondsman dates the return receipt, or the date of receipt of the order and 

judgment of forfeiture is evidenced electronically, then the days start running the next 

day. 

(2) If the bondsman does not date the return receipt or the date of receipt of the order and 

judgment of forfeiture is not evidenced electronically, but the insurer or professional 

bondsman or multicounty agent bondsman does, or the date of receipt is evidenced 

electronically, then the days start running the next day. 

(3) If neither the bondsman nor the insurer or professional bondsman or multicounty 

agent bondsman dates the return receipt, nor is the date of receipt of the order of 

judgment of forfeiture evidenced electronically, then the days start running the day after 

the order and judgment of forfeiture was mailed. 

 

[Source: Added at 10 Ok Reg 1483, eff 5-1-93; Amended at 24 Ok Reg 2210, eff 7-14-07; 

Amended at 27 Ok Reg 1551, eff 7-14-10; Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1720, eff 9-15-16]  

 

365:25-5-41. Special deposit  
(a) In addition to the cash or securities deposited in trust with the Insurance Commissioner's 

office pursuant to 36 O.S. § 613, insurers writing bail bonds in this state shall deposit in trust 

additional cash or securities equaling at least Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000.00), 

and insurers writing bail bonds in this state shall not exceed a twenty-to-one (20:1) ratio of 

outstanding liability-to-special deposit.  

(b) An insurer shall comply with the following requirements to maintain the special deposit 

described in Subsection (a):  

(1) The insurer’s monthly report of outstanding liability shall be within ten percent (10%) 

of the outstanding liability reported by all the insurer’s appointed surety bondsmen for 

that month.  

(2) All bail bond forfeitures shall either be paid within 91 days after receipt of the Order 

and Judgment of Forfeiture or vacated by the court within 91 days from the date of 

receipt of the Order and Judgment of Forfeiture pursuant to Section 365:25-5-40.  

(c) If the insurer fails to comply with either requirement of paragraph (b) more than three (3) 

times in a consecutive twelve (12) month period, the insurer’s outstanding liability shall not 

exceed a ten-to-one (10:1) ratio of outstanding liability-to-special deposit. The Insurance 

Commissioner shall provide written notification of this requirement via certified mail, return 

receipt requested, to the insurer’s address of record. The special deposit required by this 

paragraph shall become effective thirty (30) days from the date notification is received.  
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(d) If an insurer is authorized to write only bail bonds, any cash or securities deposited in trust 

with the Insurance Commissioner’s office pursuant to 36 O.S. § 613 in excess of the minimum 

amount required by Section 613 shall apply towards the special deposit required by this section.  

 

[Source: Added at 19 Ok Reg 1325, eff 7-14-02; Amended at 23 Ok Reg 2735, eff 7-14-2006; 

Amended at 30 Ok Reg 1800, eff 7-14-13; Amended at 32 Ok Reg 1963, eff 9-15-15]  

 

365:25-5-42. Professional/multicounty agent bondsman net worth  
For purposes of 59 O.S. §§ 1306(A)(2) or 1306.1(A)(2), total assets of the bondsman 

shall include only those assets owned by the applicant for licensure as a bondsman. Any asset or 

liability owned jointly with another, including a spouse, shall be shown on financial reports as 

required pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1309(B) and Section 365:25-5-35 by percentage of ownership of 

the bondsman individually.  

 

[Source: Added at 19 Ok Reg 1325, eff 7-14-02; Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1720, eff 9-15-16]  

 

365:25-5-43. Appointments  
The effective date of the bondsman appointment described in 59 O.S. § 1317 shall be the 

date the Commissioner approves the completed appointment and notifies the bail bondsman’s 

resident county court clerk.   

 

[Source: Added at 25 Ok Reg 1660, eff 7-14-2008; Amended at 29 Ok Reg 1296, eff 7-14-12] 

 

365:25-5-44. Notice of return to custody 

 Following a forfeiture, if the defendant has been returned to custody as defined in 59 O.S. 

§ 1332(C)(4), the bondsman shall file notice with the court clerk of the county where the 

forfeiture occurred by the ninety-first day after receipt of the order and judgment of forfeiture, 

certifying the defendant was returned to custody by the ninetieth day after receipt of the order 

and judgment of forfeiture.  Failure to provide notice prior to the ninety-first day shall be a 

violation of 59 O.S. § 1310(A)(2). 

 

[Source: Added at 27 Ok Reg 1551, eff 7-14-10; Amended at 32 Ok Reg 1963, eff 9-15-15] 

 

365:25-5-45. Fines and costs due to Commissioner 

All fines and costs assessed by order of the Commissioner shall be due and payable to the 

Oklahoma Insurance Department within thirty (30) days of the date of the order unless otherwise 

ordered. 

 

 [Source: Added at 28 Ok Reg 1964, eff 7-14-11] 

 

365:25-5-46. Notification of use of business name 

Any bondsman or surety doing business under any name or names other than the legal 

name of the bondsman or surety shall notify the Oklahoma Insurance Department prior to using 

the name or names. 
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[Source: Added at 28 Ok Reg 1964, eff 7-14-11] 

 

365:25-5-47. Financial statement required 

 If the license of a professional bondsman is transferred pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1306(D), or 

the license of a multicounty agent bondsman is transferred pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1306.1(C), the 

transferee shall submit a financial statement to the Department within 180 days after the date of 

the transfer.  

 

[Source: Added at 30 Ok Reg 1800, eff 7-14-13; Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1720, eff 9-15-16] 

 

365:25-5-48. Acts of a bail bondsman 

Pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1311.3(A), it is unlawful for any individual whose license to act as 

a bail bondsman has been suspended, revoked, surrendered, or refused, to do or perform any of 

the acts of a bail bondsman. Likewise, pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1311.3(B), it is unlawful for any 

bail bondsman to assist, aid, or conspire with a person whose license as a bail bondsman has 

been suspended, revoked, surrendered, or refused, to engage in any acts as a bail bondsman. For 

the purposes of 59 O.S. § 1311.3, the "acts of a bail bondsman" include, but are not limited to: 

(1) Soliciting for a bond as defined in 59 O.S. § 1301(B)(11); 

(2) Accepting collateral and providing a written receipt for collateral pursuant to 59 O.S. 

§ 1314(A); 

(3) Collecting premiums in person at a location other than the bondsman's recorded place 

of business pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1316(C);  

(4) Providing a written receipt for premium pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1316(C); 

(5) Negotiating or posting bonds pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1317(D); 

(6) Surrendering a defendant into custody pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1327(A);  

(7) Returning a defendant to custody prior to forfeiture pursuant to 59 O.S. §§ 1327 & 

1328; 

(8) Filing or signing with the court clerk a notice of return to custody; 

(9) Signing or filing with the court clerk a guarantee to pay travel expenses; 

(10) Signing and presenting a request that a defendant be entered into the records of the 

National Crime Information Center (NCIC);   

(11) Submitting monthly reports to the Insurance Department pursuant to 59 O.S. § 

1314(B); 

(12) Providing to the Oklahoma Insurance Department required documentation regarding 

Notice of Appointment, Filing Fee, and Notice of Termination pursuant to 59 O.S. § 

1317; and 

(13) Any other act that imposes any duty or obligation upon a licensed bail bondsman or 

surety. 

 

[Source: Added at 32 Ok Reg 1963, eff 9-15-15; Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1720, eff 9-15-16] 

 


