Shared Work – FAQ’s
Oklahoma

What is Shared Work?
Shared Work, also called Short-Time Compensation, is an alternative to layoffs that may be used when the work available to employees decreases.  Instead of the employer laying off some employees, all employees in the affected unit share the available work by working reduced hours and collect a portion of their unemployment benefits.  The Shared Work application must be initiated by the employer.  The employer’s representative must complete the Application for approval, certifying that the plan is in lieu of layoffs that would involve at least 10 percent of the employees in the affected unit, and at least fifty employees within the company.  The fringe benefits of each employee in the affected unit must be maintained at the level in effect before the shared work plan is implemented.
How many employees must I have to qualify?
The participating employer must regularly employ at least one hundred employees.  
What other requirements would the employer have to meet?
· The employer must certify that the implementation of a shared work plan and the resulting reduction in work hours is in lieu of temporary layoffs that would affect at least ten percent (10%) of the employees in the affected unit and at least fifty employees within the company; and

· The employer must have filed all reports required to be filed under the Employment Security Act of 1980 for all past and current periods, and has paid all contributions, interest, penalties and fees owing on the employer's account with the Commission.

· A shared work plan may not be implemented to subsidize seasonal employers during the off-season or to subsidize employers who have traditionally employed workers less than thirty-two (32) hours per week.

· If any employer that is eligible for a tax rate computation under Sections 3-101 through 3-118 of Title 40 of the Oklahoma Statutes is assigned an experience tax rate of five and four-tenths percent (5.4%) or greater for a calendar year, that employer shall be ineligible to participate in the Shared Work Unemployment Compensation Program provided by this act for that calendar year.

I’m not an employer.  I work for the employer.  Can I take Shared Work as an option?
No.  Your employer must apply for the program, meet the requirements, and receive approval.
How many hours must be reduced in a Shared Work plan?
The work hour reduced in a week must be at least 20 percent (20%) and no more than 40 percent (40%).

Are there any requirements for employee participation?
Not unless otherwise listed.  However, the claimant must qualify for unemployment benefits based on the wages earned from employment during the base period of a claim (which is the first four of the last five calendar quarters).

If we have union employees, must the union approved Shared Work?
Yes.  If your employees are covered by a collective bargaining agreement, a signed consent form from the collective bargaining representative must accompany the application for approval of a Shared Work plan.

Must hours of work be reduced equally for all employees?
All employees participating in the same Shared Work plan must be treated equally, with the same percentage of hours reduced.  However, there may be multiple Shared Work plans for an employer covering different departments, shifts or unit.  
How much will the employee receive?

This depends on the percentage of the work reduction.  If the employee is reduced 20% of the week, then their unemployment payment would be for 20% of the weekly benefit amount they are eligible for.  If the employee is reduced 40%, then their unemployment payment would be for 40% of the weekly benefit amount.  Please note that each claimant must serve a one week waiting period.
Can the employer terminate the Shared Work plan?

Yes.  An employer may terminate a Shared Work plan by providing written notice to the department.  In addition, the Oklahoma Employment Security Commission may terminate a shared work plan for good cause if the Commission determines that the shared work plan is not being executed according to the terms and intent of the Shared Work Unemployment Compensation Program.

Must an employee actively seek or accept work or accept other work while participating in Shared Work?

No.  However, to be eligible for Shared Work, a participating employee must be available for his or her normal weekly hours of work with the Shared Work employer.  So, for example, the employee cannot take a vacation somewhere that is too far away for the worker to return back to work, if called.
How are Shared-Work benefits charged?
All UI benefits for participating employees for weeks during the effective period of the Shared-Work plan are charged to the Shared-Work employer.   Shared work benefits paid under a shared work plan shall be based on benefit wages of the participating employee and shall be charged to the participating employer as provided in Sections 1-221, 3-105, 3-106 and 3-806 of Title 40 of the Oklahoma Statutes.

Must the application specify which employees will be participating in the Shared-Work program?
Yes. The plan must include the name, Social Security Number, normal hours worked per week, and the proposed reduction of hours per week for each employee.

 
How will the employer know if the Shared-Work plan is approved?
The employer will be notified in writing when the plan is approved or disapproved. 

 

How long can a Shared Work plan last?  
A shared work plan is effective on the date it is approved by the Oklahoma Employment Security Commission. For good cause shown, the Commission may designate the effective date to be on any day within a period of fourteen (14) days prior to the date the plan is approved by the Commission. The shared work plan expires on the last day of the twelfth full calendar month after the effective date of the shared work plan. Shared work benefits shall be paid for a maximum of twenty-six (26) weeks during the twelve (12) consecutive calendar months that the shared work plan is in effect.

What other responsibilities do I have after the plan is approved?

The employer is required to submit a weekly file, in a specific format, for each week of the furlough or reduced hours. The employer is responsible for preparing the file and any errors.  This may require your IT department prepare the file.  The weekly file must be submitted and received within 14 days of the ending date of the weekly claim.
What if an employee does not wish to participate?
The employer should discuss the program with the employees ahead of time.  Once the application is approved, the weekly file will file a claim for each furlough week, triggering a payment to the employees listed (as long as they are otherwise eligible).  The employer needs to determine whether an employee will be participating before submitting the application.  
I am an employee who will be furloughed.  What are my options if the employer doesn’t wish to participate in Shared Work?
Here are the options if your employer does not apply or is not approved for the Shared Work program.  If you are furloughed or your hours are reduced, and you are still working 32 hours, you will not be eligible for any unemployment benefits.

If you are furloughed, or your work hours are reduced, and you will be working less than 32 hours for each week, you may be eligible for unemployment benefits.  This will depend on how many hours you work and how much you earn. 

Example:  You make $25.00 per hour.  Your hours are reduced to 24 hours during a particular week.  If you file a claim for that week, you will be asked and required to furnish how many hours you worked and how much you earned.  In this example, your earnings would be $600 for the week.  Because the maximum amount allowed for unemployment benefits in Oklahoma is $386 per week you would not be eligible for any UI payment.  All earnings must be reported and any earnings over $100 are deducted dollar for dollar from whatever your maximum weekly benefit amount is.  In this example, any earnings of $487 or greater would be considered excessive earnings and you would not be eligible.

However, if you only earned $10 per hour, using the same example as above, your earnings would be $240.00.  If you are eligible for $386 per week in benefits, then you would receive unemployment benefits for $246.00.  

In addition, if you are applying for unemployment benefits because you have reduced hours or are on a furlough, you WILL be required to search for work for each week you claim benefits unless your type of layoff meets the requirements for a temporary layoff (layoff or furlough must be 8 weeks or less, and we must have a letter from your employer specifying these details).  This requirement does not apply to the Shared Work claims.
For additional information, email:  SharedWork@oesc.state.ok.us

NOTE:  All unemployment claims require that the first week of the claim is served as a waiting period which is unpaid. 








