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STATE OF OKLAHOMA 

COUNCIL ON LAW ENFORCEMENT EDUCATION AND TRAINING 

APPLICATION FOR INTERMEDIATE OR ADVANCED LAW ENFORCEMENT CERTIFICATION 

Law Enforcement Professional's Certification Program 

In order to recognize the competence of law enforcement officers serving within the state; foster increased interest 
in higher education and professional law enforcement training programs; and to attract highly qualified 
individuals to a law enforcement career, the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training, with the 
support of the Oklahoma Association of Chiefs of Police, Oklahoma Sheriff's Association and the Oklahoma 
Sheriff and Peace Officers Association, has established the Law Enforcement Professionals' Certification 
Program.  This program provides a method for officers to receive recognition for education, professional training, 
and on-the-job experience. The Council will grant these certifications under the authority of Oklahoma Statutes, 
70 O.S. § 3311. 

The Law Enforcement Professionals' Certification Program was developed to give recognition for achievement in 
the field of law enforcement. Under the Law Enforcement Professionals' Certification Program, two additional 
Certifications, beyond the level of Basic Law Enforcement Certification, may be awarded. Intermediate or 
Advanced Certification may be awarded to paid, full-time, sworn law enforcement officers who possess powers of 
arrest and who are employed by units of state and local government. To be eligible for either the Intermediate or 
Advanced Certification, the following qualifying conditions must be met: 

1. Must currently hold Law Enforcement Basic Academy Certification which has been issued by the Oklahoma 
Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training. No one serving under a probationary certification status 
shall be eligible. 

2. Must be a paid, full-time, sworn member of a state or local law enforcement agency within the State of 
Oklahoma. 

3. Must subscribe to the Law Enforcement Code of Ethics. 
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The sections which follow explain the point computation formulas and set forth the criterion for each 
certification, including Basic Law Enforcement Academy Certification. 

Criterion for Basic Law Enforcement Academy Certification and Point Computation Formula 

Basic Law Enforcement Academy Certification requires successful completion of a Basic Law 
Enforcement Academy of not less than 280 hours for those persons gaining Oklahoma peace officer 
certification by reciprocity agreements with other states, and of not less than 300 hours for those persons 
attending a CLEET Basic Law Enforcement Academy or one approved by CLEET. In addition, applicants 
must meet the prescribed minimum employment standards as established by 70 O.S. § 3311. 

Basic Law Enforcement Certifications will not be issued as a part of this program as they are 
automatically generated upon the completion of a Basic Law Enforcement Academy. While basic peace 
officer Certification is a mandate of 70 O.S. § 3311, participation in the Law Enforcement Professionals' 
Certification Program is voluntary. However, completion of a Basic Law Enforcement Academy does 
play a role in the point computation formulas for Intermediate and Advanced Certifications. 

Peace Officers who elect to participate in the Law Enforcement Professionals' Certification Program will 
be given fifteen (15) training point credits for the completion of a Basic Law Enforcement Academy. 
Applicants for the Intermediate and Advanced Certifications shall be given credit for the successful 
completion of only one Basic Academy. 

As some Council approved Basic Academies have Field Training Officer Programs (FTO) attached to 
them, training credits have also been allocated for these programs and they shall be calculated as follows: 
Two (2) points shall be given for the successful completion of an FTO Program which is ten weeks or 
longer. 

Point Computation Formulas and Criterion for Minimum Qualification 

Point Computation Formulas 
The point computation formulas are based upon numerical values which have been assigned for diverse 
learning experiences. These formulas fall within the norms which are currently being used nationwide by 
peace officer standards and training commissions. For Oklahoma, they have been set as follows: 

Education Points 
Each semester hour of college credit shall equal one point; each quarter hour shall equal two-third (2/3) 
point. 

Training Points: 
Twenty (20) classroom hours of job-related training, as determined by the Council, shall equal one (1) 
training point. 
 

EXAMPLE: 200 hours equal ten (10) training points. 
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Job related training is defined as: 
    1. Management, Continuing Education, or other specialized courses which are accredited, sponsored, 
approved, or presented by the Council; The Law Enforcement Basic Academy, and all approved academy 
city Basics. 
    2. Departmental or other in service training, which is recorded and documented in the personnel file of 
the officer's department. These official agency training records must include the subject, instructor, 
classroom hours, sponsor, location and dates of training. Applicants must submit the required 
documentation with their application. Roll call and re-qualification/testing programs, such as Breathalyzer 
and Firearms Re-qualifications, will not be counted as training. 
    3. If properly documented, training completed in other states, military police training and other 
specialized training, may be submitted to the Council for evaluation and approval as job related training. 
    4. The Council will not give credit for repeat courses of the same class within a twelve (12) month 
period. 
 
Criterion for Minimum Qualification Intermediate Certification 
Basic Law Enforcement Certification is the foundation for Intermediate Certification. In addition to the 
required Basic Certification, the Intermediate Certificate requires a prescribed combination of years 
experience and education and/or training points. The table which follows sets forth the formulas by which 
training points may be substituted for years of experience. 
 
Minimum Years of Experience: 
8+  7  6  5  4  4  2 

Minimum Training or Educational Points, Including Basic Academy:  
3753  67  83  97  22  21 

                                                                                                  or                      +*                      +** 

*Has a minimum of an Associate Degree from an accredited community college, junior college, college, 
or university and at least four (4) years experience, plus an additional 22 education and/or training points. 

**Has a minimum of a Baccalaureate Degree from an accredited college or university and at least two (2) 
years experience, plus an additional 21 education and/or training points. 

Or, in other words, any officer may qualify for the INTERMEDIATE CERTIFICATE if they: 

Have met the requirements for BASIC CERTIFICATION, and  

* Have accumulated at least thirty-seven (37) education and/or training points and at least eight (8) years 
experience, or 

* Have accumulated at least fifty-three (53) education and/or training points and at least seven (7) years 
experience, or 

* Have accumulated at least sixty-seven (67) education and/or training points and at least six (6) years 
experience, or 
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* Have accumulated at least eighty-three (83) education and/or training points and at least five (5) years 
experience, or 

* Have accumulated at least ninety-seven (97) education and/or training points and at least four (4) years 
experience, or 

* Have an Associate Degree from an accredited college or university and have accumulated at least 
twenty-two (22) additional education and/or training points and have at least four (4) years experience, or 

* Have a Baccalaureate Degree from an accredited college or university and have accumulated at least 
twenty-one (21) additional education and/or training points and have at least two (2) years experience. 

Criterion for Minimum Qualification Advanced Certification 

Officers who hold Basic Law Enforcement Certification may skip the Intermediate Certification and 
apply for Advanced Certification if they qualify for such based upon the point computation formulas 
which are listed in the table below which sets forth the formulas by which training points can be 
substituted for years of experience. 

Minimum Years of Experience: 
12+  11  10  9  9  6  4 

Minimum Training or Educational Points, Including Basic and Intermediate Certificate: 
67  77  87  97  *31  **25  ***21 
                                                                                                           +                         +                          + 
                                                                                                *AS/AA        **BA/BS        Grad.degree 
 
* Has a minimum of an Associate Degree from an accredited community college, junior college, 
college, or university and at least nine (9) years experience plus an additional thirty-one (31) 
education and/or training points. 

** Has a minimum of a Baccalaureate Degree from an accredited college or university and at least six (6) 
years experience plus an additional twenty- five (25) education and/or training points. 

*** Has a graduate degree from an accredited college or university and at least four (4) years experience 
plus an additional twenty-one (21) education and/or training points. 

    Or, in other words, officers applying for Advanced Law Enforcement Certificates must: 

* Meet the requirements for BASIC CERTIFICATION, and 
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* Have accumulated at least sixty-seven (67) education and/or training points and at least twelve (12) 
years experience, or 

* Have accumulated at least seventy-seven (77) education and/or training points and at least eleven (11) 
years experience, or 

* Have accumulated at least eighty-seven (87) education and/or training points and at least ten (10) years 
experience, or 

* Have accumulated at least ninety-seven (97) education and/or training points and at least nine (9) years 
experience, or 

* Have an Associate Degree from an accredited college or university and have accumulated at least thirty-
one (31) education and/or training points and at least nine (9) years experience, or 

* Have a Baccalaureate Degree from an accredited college or university and have at least twenty-five (25) 
education and/or training points and at least six (6) years experience, or 

* Have a Graduate Degree from an accredited college or university and have accumulated at least twenty-
one (21) education and/or training points and at least four (4) years experience. 

Application Procedure  

Officers interested in applying for Intermediate or Advanced Level Certification should find it useful to 
review the following steps prior to completing the two page application which follows this section. 

 
A. Compute total years of law enforcement experience. 

 
B. Compute your college credits and classroom hours of law enforcement training. Use the appropriate 
conversion on pages 2 or 7 to convert hours to points. 

C. Compare degree or accumulated points and total law enforcement experience with certificate 
requirements. 

D. If qualified to receive a certificate, complete the application form and attach necessary documentation 
to verify your qualifications. Education and training must be supported by photocopies of transcripts,  
official training records, or verifiable documents. 

E. Return the application to your agency administrator for endorsement. No certificate will be issued 
unless such issuance is recommended by the employing administrator. 
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F. Your agency must forward the application to the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training 
for review and processing. As the Council only meets quarterly, there may be a delayed processing period 
of three to four months. 

G. Appropriate certificates will be presented through the employing agency for those applications  
which are approved by the Council. 

COUNCIL ON LAW ENFORCEMENT EDUCATION AND TRAINING LAW 
ENFORCEMENT PROFESSIONALS’ CERTIFICATION PROGRAM 

Rules - Officer Certification  

1. Basic, Intermediate and Advanced Certification are awarded by the Council to officers meeting 
prescribed criterion for training, education, experience, and the employing agency's established standards. 

2. Basic certification is mandatory and must be acquired by all law enforcement officers within six 
months of the beginning date of service. 

3. To be eligible for Basic, Intermediate, Advanced Certificates, applicants must be employed as full-time 
peace officers as defined by Oklahoma Statute, Title 70 § 3311. 

4. Applicants shall meet prescribed minimum employment standards as established by Chapter two of the 
Rules Governing the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training. 

5. Applicants must subscribe to, and abide by, the Law Enforcement Code of Ethics. 

6. Applications for certification must be submitted on the prescribed CLEET form. All sections of the 
form must be complete and include documentation of minimum standards of employment, training, 
education and experience. 

 
7. Applicants must sign the form certifying accuracy of the information contained thereon. It is also the 
responsibility of the applicant to ensure required documentation is attached and verified for accuracy. 

8. The administrator or authorized representative of the applicant's employing agency must certify the 
applicant meets minimum standards of employment, training, education and experience and is eligible to 
receive and hold certification for which application is made.    The administrator or designee must 
recommend issuance of the appropriate certification. 

9. When an agency administrator is the applicant, the recommendation to approve or decline shall come 
from the appointing authority or the applicant's superior. 

10. Applicants for Intermediate or Advanced Certification must have completed designated education 
and/or training, combined with prescribed law enforcement experience, and/or hold the designated college 
degree, combined with prescribed law enforcement experience and designated education and/or training, 
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before certification will be granted. The probationary status of any applicant shall be included in counting 
the applicant's service/experience time. 

11. Employment, training and education must be supported by photocopies of transcripts, certificates, 
diplomas, or other verifying documents. Such documents are to be attached to the application. 

12. Education Points: Each semester hour of college credit shall equal one (1) point; each quarter hour 
shall equal two-thirds (2/3) point. 

Example: Fifteen (15) college credits equal 15 education points. 

13. Training Points: Twenty (20) classroom hours of job-related training, approved by the Council, shall 
equal one (1) training point. 

Example: Two hundred (200) training hours equals ten (10) training points. 

    a) Basic, Management, Continuing Education or specialized courses which are sponsored, presented or 
accredited by the Council may be approved. 

    b) The Council may approve departmental or in-service training which is recorded and documented in 
the personnel files of the peace officer's department. These records must include the subject, instructor, 
classroom hours, sponsor, location and dates of training. (See Rules Governing the Council on Law 
Enforcement Education and Training, Section 5.2000, Paragraph 5.212). Roll call and re-
qualification/testing programs, such as Breathalyzer and Firearms Re-qualifications, will not be counted 
as training. 

    c) Training completed in other states, military police training, and other specialized training, if properly 
documented, may be submitted for Council evaluation and final approval.     d) Repeat courses of the 
same class within a twelve (12) month period will not be approved.     e) With proper documentation, 
instructors may claim course completion for law enforcement classes instructed. Repeat instruction of the 
same class within a twelve (12) month period will not be approved. 

    f) College credits earned may be counted for either training points or educational points, whichever is 
to the advantage of the applicant. 

 
7. Experience: Only experience as a paid; full-time, sworn peace officer of a law enforcement agency will 
be accepted. Documentation of such information must be available and provided at the time the 
application is submitted. 

8. For the purpose of calculating training points, the applicant shall be given credit for satisfactory 
completion of only one Council accredited basic training program, regardless of the length of that 
academy. 
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9. Any basic training program, which is approved by the Council on Law Enforcement Education and 
Training for the certification of officers, shall have a value of no more than fifteen (15) points. 

10. Field Training Officer programs consisting of ten (10) weeks or more shall have a value of two (2) 
points, provided an outline of the training is available to the Council and a record of the applicant's 
progress and proficiency is retained in the personnel and/or training file of the employing department and 
providing such will be made available upon Council request. 

11. Certificates and cards issued by the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training remain the 
property of the Council, and the Council shall have the authority to revoke or recall any and all 
certificates and cards as provided for in these rules. 

Grounds For Revocation of Intermediate or Advanced Certification  

I. The Council may deny or revoke the Intermediate or Advanced Certification if the officer: 

    a) Obtains or attempts to obtain an Intermediate or Advanced certification by supplying the Council 
with false, forged, altered or otherwise erroneous information; or 

    b) If the officer's Basic Certification is revoked in accordance with 70 O.S. § 3311(k). 

Lapse of Certification  

    a) An Intermediate or Advanced certification lapses if the holder is not employed as a law enforcement 
officer with an agency in this or another state or territory for a period of twelve (12) consecutive months. 

    b) A person may request reinstatement of a lapsed certificate after serving an additional twelve (12) 
months probationary period. The Council may, in its discretion, require supplemental training as a 
condition of reinstatement. 

"Probationary period" means employment as a law enforcement officer for a period of twelve (12) 
consecutive months with a single agency.  Separation of less than ninety-one (91) consecutive days will 
be considered unbroken service. 

Most Frequently Asked Questions  

Question: If I attended a Council approved Basic Peace Officer Academy which was less than 300 hours 
do I still receive 15 points credit for completion of the academy? 

Answer: Yes, a Council approved Basic Peace Officer Academy receives 15 points credit regardless of 
the academy length. 
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Question: If I attended a Council approved Basic Peace Officer Academy which was more than 300 hours 
do I receive credit beyond the 15 points which is given for the 300 hour basic academies? 

Answer: No, a maximum of 15 points is given for all basic academies. However, if your basic had a Field 
Training Officer Program which was at least ten weeks in length, you may received an additional 2 points 
credit. 

Question: My agency maintains printouts which reflect all my training. May I submit the agency printout 
as training documentation or must I send individual course certificates as documentation? 

Answer: If your agency printout is identifiable as an agency document it may be submitted in lieu of 
individual course certificates. If the printout is not identifiable as being generated by an agency computer, 
it must be accompanied by correspondence which verifies that it is your training record, maintained by 
your agency. The accompanying letter must be on agency letterhead and signed by the agency head. 

Question: Will any law enforcement training count for training points? 

Answer: Yes, but there must be documentation of the training on your CLEET training record, your 
agency training record, or, you must have a certificate for the training. 

Question: Will agency in-service training on firearms count for training points? 

Answer: In-service firearms training will count for training points but annual re-qualification will not 
count. Likewise, Breathalyzer re-qualification will not count toward training points. 

Question: What do I need to document my military training?  

Answer: A certificate reflecting total law enforcement training hours or any other military 
document which reflects the total number of hours of law enforcement related topics.  

Question: Will everything on my CLEET computer printout count as long as it is not re-qualification, roll 
call training, or a repeat course (Example: NRA Shotgun Nomenclature Course and CLEET Shotgun 
Nomenclature Course) within a year's time? 

Answer: Yes. 

Question: Who should sign my application if I am an agency head applying for an advanced level 
certification? 

Answer: If you are appointed to your position the appointing authority may sign your application. If you 
are elected to office, you may elect to have your mayor, city manager, county commissioner, or district 
attorney sign your application. 
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Question: Will out-of-state law enforcement employment count towards experience points? 

Answer: Yes, but you must also possess Oklahoma peace officer certification. 

Question: If I have college hours beyond a bachelor's degree level requirement, but below a master's 
degree requirement, may I count the hours above my bachelors degree as training points? 

Answer: Yes. Generally, a Bachelor's degree requires 124 semester hours so hours which are in excess of 
124, but below that which is needed for a Master's degree, may count as training hours. Likewise, hours 
in excess of a Master's degree, but short of a Doctorate, will count as training hours. 
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