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Legal update 2010.  Please keep in mind that this is, by necessity, a summary.  If we were to copy 
all the new laws, this document would run to several thousand pages.  Even a detailed summary 
of every provision would be hundreds of pages long, and that is simply not feasible.  You are 
encouraged to read the complete laws, available at www.oscn.net.   Click on ‘legal research’ and 
then click on ‘Oklahoma Statutes Citationized’.  You can get a complete history of each bill at the 
Oklahoma Legislature’s website:  http://webserver1.lsb.state.ok.us/WebBillStatus/main.html.  

 

TITLE 47 
MOTOR VEHICLES 

 
HB 2264 (effective November 1, 2010)  enacts a new law to be codified at 
47 O.S. § 1132.6 to provide an additional fee of $3.00 upon every 
motorcycle registered for “use on roads and highways”.  The money is to 
go to the Motorcycle Safety and Education Program Revolving Fund. 
 
SB 1329 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 47 O.S. § 11-202 to allow a 
motorcycle to proceed through a red light in these circumstances: 

(1) The motorcycle has been brought to a complete stop 
(2) The traffic control signal is programmed or engineered to change 
to a green signal only after detecting the approach of a motor vehicle 
and has failed to detect the arrival of the motorcycle, and 
(3) No motor vehicle or person is approaching on the roadway to be 
crossed or entered, or the motor vehicle or person is at a distance 
from the intersection that does not constitute an immediate hazard. 
(4)  The driver of any vehicle approaching the intersection, which 
lawfully may enter the intersection, shall have the right-of-way over 
any motorcycle operator proceeding through a red light.    

 
HB 2901 (effective April 9, 2010) amends 47 O.S. § 15-112 to allow a 
pregnant woman to obtain and use a “detachable placard indicating 
physical disability” for purposes of parking in designated ‘handicapped’ 
parking spaces.    The woman must show that she – 

1.  Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest OR 
2. Cannot walk without assistance OR 
3. Has restricted breathing OR 
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4. Must use portable oxygen OR 
5. Has functional limitations recognized by the American Heart 

Association OR 
6. Is severely limited in ability to walk OR 
7. Is certified legally blind OR 
8. Is missing one or more limbs. 

 
The physical condition must be certified by a physician, a physician 
assistant, or Registered Nurse Practitioner. 

HB 2567 (effective June 5, 2010) makes several changes regarding 
handicapped parking (now called “disabled” parking).  These include: 

1. Amends 47 O.S. § 15-111 to include disability stickers issued by the 
Department of Veterans Affairs and federal military bases, and 
disabled parking stickers issued by another State. 

2. Amends 47 O.S. § 15-112  to match the provisions of § 15-111. 
3. Amends 47 O.S. § 15-113 to provide: 

a. A falsified statement in an application for a disabled parking 
sticker is punishable by a fine of up to $500. 

b. Unauthorized use of a disabled parking sticker is punishable by 
a fine of up to $500.  A person transporting a “physically 
disabled person with an authorized” sticker is not subject to the 
fine. 

c. Allowing an unauthorized person to use a legitimate disabled 
parking sticker is punishable by a fine of up to $500. 

d. Making a counterfeit disabled parking sticker is punishable by 
a fine of up to $500. 

4. Amends 47 O.S. § 11-1007.1 to change references to “handicapped” 
to “disabled” and allows “civilian volunteer disabled parking 
violation” units to report violations on public property and private 
property where the public is invited.  This amendment also revokes 
the portion of the statute that allows confiscation of an invalid 
disabled parking sticker. 

5. Amends 47 O.S. § 11-1008 regarding municipal ordinances on 
disabled parking.  This allows these ordinances to be in effect on 
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certain types of private property, such as motels, restaurants, schools, 
and stores. 

6. Amends 47 O.S. § 11-1007 to allocate fines received for violations of 
the disabled parking rules.  80% goes to the municipality and 20% 
goes to DPS.  When enough is accumulated, DPS is to use this money 
to “develop, deploy, and administer” a database which will allow an 
Officer to verify a disabled parking sticker. 

HB 2325 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 47 O.S. § 2-105 to change 
the age range for officers commissioned by the  “Commissioner of Public 
Safety” from 21 to 43 years of age to 23 to 46 years of age. 
 
HB 2276 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 47 O.S. § 11-309.  This 
amendment essentially removes the requirement that vehicles travel in the 
right-hand lane and limits the issuance of citations to situations in which 
the officer observes an accident or an “articulable danger to other persons 
on the roadway”. 
 
SB 1264 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 47 O.S. §  6-106 to allow the 
use of a P.O. box number (“mailing address”) on a drivers license. 
 
HB 2746 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 47 O.S. § 6-205 as it relates 
to revocation of driving privilege.  This amendment modifies subsection 
A(6) to require that revocation for a CDS conviction must be for actions 
that occurred “while using a motor vehicle”. 

SB 1908 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 47 O.S. § 6-105 to make 
some changes in drivers licenses for persons under 18 years of age: 

1.  A driver, at least age 16, and with a learner permit may drive a Class 
D motor vehicle “only between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m.” 
and must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 
years old. 

2. Learner permits and intermediate Class D Licenses may be 
suspended or canceled by DPS for “using a hand-held electronic 
device while operating a motor vehicle for non-life-threatening 
emergency purposes”. 
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3. “Hand-held electronic device” is defined as “a mobile telephone or 
electronic device with which a user engages in a telephone call, plays 
or stores media, including but not limited to music and video, or 
sends or reads a text message while requiring the use of at least one 
hand”. 

4. “Using a hand-held electronic device” is defined as “engaging any 
function on an electronic device”. 

SB 1779 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 47 O.S. § 6-106 to allow the 
inclusion of an “emergency contact person” on the application for a drivers 
license.  This information is to be maintained by DPS and is to be used by 
DPS and law enforcement “for emergency purposes only”.   Updates of the 
information may be made by the applicant or the person who is the 
emergency contact.   A person listed as an emergency contact may request 
to be removed at any time.   

SB 2229 (effective February 1, 2011) amends 47 O.S. § 6-110.2 to allow an 
exception to the computerized finger imaging process for drivers licenses.  
If the finger image of a person over 65 cannot be scanned, the requirement 
can be “overridden” if the agent personally verifies the identity.  DPS must 
be able to “trace to the agent who authorized the override”. 

SB 1387 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 47 O.S. § 11-905, which 
concerns causing an accident while operating a vehicle without a valid 
drivers license, or while the license is suspended or revoked.  This 
amendment makes the statute apply to any motor vehicle accident which 
injures a person other than the driver, even if that person is in the same 
vehicle. 

HB 2331 (effective November 1, 2010) makes several changes related to 
proof of insurance, and suspended drivers licenses. 

1. Amends 47 O.S. § 7-600.2, which concerns the online verification 
system for insurance policies.    With this change, a law enforcement 
officer, to establish compliance with the compulsory insurance law, 
“Shall” access the online system to verify the verification form 
produced by the operator of “each” vehicle during the traffic stop or 
accident investigation.   
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a. If compliance is not confirmed and “a subsequent investigation 
conducted by the officer” verifies non-compliance, the officer 
shall issue a citation. 

b. Establishing compliance by the online system “shall not be the 
primary cause” to stop a vehicle. 

2.  Amends 47 O.S. § 7-605 to require a law enforcement officer who 
“has been notified that the driving privilege of a person has been 
suspended” and has probable cause to believe that the vehicle “is not 
insured” as required, shall “seize the vehicle being operated by the 
person and cause the vehicle to be towed and stored”. 

3. Amends 47 O.S. § 7-606 to provide that a law enforcement officer 
who has issued a citation for failure to comply with the Compulsory 
Insurance Law “may seize the vehicle to be towed and stored”.    The 
vehicle may not be seized if the operator produces what “appears to 
be a valid security verification form” and the Office is “unable to 
confirm” through the online system or investigation.  A vehicle with 
a proper temporary license plate shall not be seized and towed. 

4. Amends 47 O.S. § 955 to include “probable cause that the vehicle is 
not insured” as a reason to tow a vehicle “found upon a roadway”. 

SB 1762 (effective November 1, 2010) makes two changes related to use of 
motor vehicles: 

1. Amends 47 O.S. § 6-205 to add a misdemeanor conviction for 
manslaughter or negligent homicide to the list of crimes for which a 
drivers license is to be revoked. 

2. Enacts a new law to be codified at 37 O.S. § 609.  This law provides 
that it is a crime for a person ”owning or operating a hired bus or 
limousine service vehicle” to knowingly transport a person under 21 
years old who is “in possession of or consuming beverages, including 
low-point beer”.  Violation is punishable by a fine of up to $500 and 
“mandatory revocation” of the drivers license.  A second or 
subsequent conviction is subject to the fine and possible revocation of 
the “interstate Registration Certificate or other license” for 1 year.  
The law enforcement agency issuing a citation shall be required to 
report the conviction to DPS. 



~ 7 ~ 

 

SB 2007 (effective November 1, 2010) makes changes in  four sections 
concerning drivers licenses. 

1. Amends 47 O.S. § 6-107.1 to provide that DPS can extend the term of 
“cancellation or denial” of a license to the date when the driver turns 
age 16, if it otherwise would have expired before that date. 

2. Amends 47 O.S. § 6-205.1 and § 761 to clarify that a modification of a 
revocation is limited to Class D licenses. 

3. Amends 47 O.S. § 754.1 to include 47 O.S. § 761 (“driving while 
impaired”) in the list of violations for which a revocation may be 
modified when “no other adequate means of transportation exists” 
for the violator. 

HB 2957 (effective November 1, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 
47 O.S. § 11-901c.  This law provides that a “public transit driver” may not 
operate a motor vehicle while using a cellular telephone or texting device.  
The penalty is a fine of up to $500.  A “public transit driver” includes the 
operator of any public transit vehicle owned by the state or subdivision, a 
school bus, or a locomotive engine.  It does not include any railroad 
employee regulated by the Federal Railroad Administration. 
 
HB 2883 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 47 O.S. § 1102 (The 
“Oklahoma Vehicle License and Registration Act”) to include 
“powersports vehicles” and “powersports vehicle dealers” in the Act.  A 
powersports vehicle” includes “motorcycles, scooters, mopeds, all-terrain 
vehicles, and utility vehicles”. 

HB 2991 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 47 O.S. § 955 which 
concerns towing of vehicles found on a roadway.  This amendment adds to 
the list a vehicle which the “officer has probable cause that the vehicle has 
been used in the commission of a felony offense” and has obtained a search 
warrant authorizing the “search and seizure” of the vehicle. 

HB 2959 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 47 O.S. § 954A, which 
concerns abandoned vehicles.  This amendment allows an out-of-county 
wrecker to be used to remove the vehicle when the property owner has 
been “unable to obtain the services” of a local wrecker service in a 
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“reasonable amount of time”.  A notation must be made on the “Tow 
Request and Authorization Form” that the local service was not available. 
 
This amendment also requires that the identifying information of the 
property owner “shall not be disclosed” without a court order or written 
consent from the property owner. 
 
HB 2969 (effective November 1, 2010) concerns use of certain lights. 

1.  Amends 47 O.S. § 11-405.1 to change the requirement that a driver 
move over when approaching a “wrecker or tow vehicle” to a 
“licensed Class AA wrecker”.  This bill does not say how a driver will 
know if a wrecker is a “Class AA wrecker” or not.  I was unable to 
find a statutory definition of “Class AA wrecker”. 

2. Amends 47 O.S. § 12-218.1 to make the same change.  “Tow vehicle” 
is removed from the statute.  To use flashing red and blue lights at 
the scene of an emergency, the vehicle must be a “licensed Class AA 
wrecker” or a “wrecker support vehicle. 

3. Amends 47 O.S. § 12-229, which concerns (non emergency) vehicles 
or machinery owned or operated by state agencies or counties or 
cities.  These vehicles are to use amber lights instead of red/blue. 

4. Enacts a new law to be codified at 47 O.S. 965, which requires that a 
wrecker or towing service that repossesses a vehicle at the “request of 
the lien holder of record” notify local law enforcement or the Sheriff 
within two hours of repossession.  The required information includes 
a description of the vehicle, the location where the vehicle was 
repossessed, the name of the owner, and the name of the lienholder, 
and the name, address and phone number of the wrecker or tow 
service provider. 

SB 1883 (effective July 1, 2010) amends 47 O.S. § 954 to allow any “duly 
appointed peace officer of the political subdivisions” of Oklahoma to 
“detain and arrest” any person who is operating a wrecker or tow truck 
“without a valid license” as required for the vehicle. 

HB 2625 (effective June 7, 2010) amends 47 O.S. § 14-111 to except from 
the weight provisions any person who is transporting horses or livestock so 
long as the person has not “been hired to transport” the livestock and the 
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words “NOT FOR HIRE” are displayed on both sides of the vehicle in 
letters at least 2 inches tall. 

HB 2958 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 47 O.S. § 14-105, which 
concerns covering of loads.  The amendment excepts trucks loaded with 
hay, if the truck is “constructed or loaded as to prevent” the hay from 
escaping. 
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Title 21 
Crimes and Punishments 

SB 2239 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 21 O.S. § 1290.12 (concealed 
carry permits): 

1. Requires that fingerprints meeting OSBI’s “Automated Fingerprint 
Identification System (AFIS) submission standards” be provided with 
the application. 

2. Requires issuance or denial of the concealed handgun license within 
60 days (instead of 90 days) from the date of receipt of the completed 
application and required information from the Sheriff, subject to 
some exceptions. 

SB 2150 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 21 O.S. § 644 to include (1) 
“a former spouse of a present spouse” and a person who “was” in a dating 
relationship in the domestic abuse law. 

HB 2964 (effective November 1, 2010) concerns D.A.’s and victims’ rights.  
(If you work closely with victims, you need to read this entire bill.) 

1. Essentially repeals 19 O.S. § 215.33 and replaces it with new sections. 
2. Amends 21 O.S. § 142A-1 to include definitions of: 

a.  “members of the immediate family” – a spouse, a child by birth 
or adoption, a stepchild, parent, grandparent, or sibling of the 
victim. 

b. “victim impact statements” – financial, emotional, 
psychological, and physical effects of a violent crime; 
information about the victim;  the circumstances of the crime; 
and the “opinion of the victim of a recommended sentence”. 

c. “violent crime” – any crime in 57 O.S. § 571 (or attempt, 
conspiracy, or solicitation); 47 O.S. § 11-903 (negligent 
homicide); and 47 O.S. § 11-904 (causing great bodily injury 
while DUI) 

3. Enacts a new law to be codified at 21 O.S. § 142A-2 which iterates 
the information to be given to the victim and witnesses by the District 
Attorney’s Office.  The net effect is that the provisions of 19 O.S. § 
215.33 have been moved to Title 21. 
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4. Enacts a new law to be codified at 21 O.S. § 142A-3 which requires 
the law enforcement officer who “interviews the victim” (or other 
“responsible adult” who represents the victim) upon the 
“preliminary investigation of a violent crime” to give written notice, 
in the form of a “preprinted card or brochure” of these rights: 

a. A statement that reads “As a victim of a crime, you have certain 
rights”. 

b. Address and phone number for the D.A. Victim-Witness 
Coordinator. 

c. Website address where the victim can access victim rights and 
compensation information. 

5.  Enacts a new law to be codified at 21 O.S. § 142A-3 which requires 
the “first peace officer who interviews the victim of domestic abuse” 
to inform the victim of the “twenty-four-hour statewide telephone 
service established by Section 18p-5 of Title 74” and to give written 
notice of these rights: 

a. To request that charges be pressed against the perpetrator. 
b. To request protection from any harm or threat of harm “as far 

as facilities are available” and “information on the level of 
protection available”. 

c. To be informed of financial and other assistance available, 
including how to apply. 

d. To file a petition for a Victims Protective Order or to request an 
emergency temporary Victims Protective Order. 

6. Enacts a new law to be codified at 21 O.S. § 142A-3 which requires 
“the officer who interviews the victim of (a) rape or forcible sodomy” 
(or other “responsible adult” who represents the victim) of the 
twenty-four-hour statewide telephone service established by Section 
18p-5 of Title 74 and to give notice of these rights: 

a. To request that charges be pressed against the perpetrator. 
b. To request protection from any harm or threat of harm “as far 

as facilities are available” and “information on the level of 
protection available”. 

c. To be informed of financial and other assistance available, 
including how to apply. 

d. To a free forensic medical examination. 
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e. To be informed by the District Attorney of other victim’s rights 
available. 

7.  Enacts a new law to be codified at 21 O.S. § 142A-4 which allows a 
victim of “domestic abuse, stalking, harassment, rape to seek relief 
under the Protection from Domestic Abuse Act.   

8. Enacts a new law to be codified at 21 O.S. § 142A-5 which requires 
the D.A.’s office to provide to the victim (even if not requested by the 
victim) an “official request for restitution form”.  The “unexcused 
failure or refusal” of the victim to provide the necessary information 
will be considered a waiver of any appeal of a restitution order. 

9. Enacts a new law to be codified at 21 O.S. § 142A-11 which allows a 
victim who is the “owner of an exhibit that has been introduced, 
filed, or held in custody of the state in any criminal action or 
proceeding” to make application for return of the exhibit prior to the 
final disposition of the action. 

10. Enacts a new law to be codified at 21 O.S. § 142A-12 which allows a 
victim to “contest the granting of a parole”.  This law also provides 
for procedures for contesting the parole.  Has notice provisions for 
the  victim of an inmate who has been granted parole or pardon. 

11. Enacts a new law to be codified at 21 O.S. § 142A-14 which allows 
persons who are at least 18 years old and “members of the immediate 
family of any deceased victim of the defendant” to witness the 
execution of the defendant.  These family members who want to 
witness the execution will be in an area separate from other 
witnesses.  They may also watch on closed circuit television with the 
approval of the Director of DOC and the Warden. 

 
SB 1250 (effective May 10, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 21 
O.S. § 1175, which makes it a crime for a “laboratory, medical facility, 
hospital, or birthing place” to store, transfer, use, or database DNA from a 
newborn child without “express parental consent”.  This statute does not 
provide a penalty. 

SB 2258 (effective November 1, 2010) makes several changes in the 
“human trafficking” laws: 
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1. Amends 21 O.S. § 446 to define a new crime:  “C.  It shall be 
unlawful for any person to intentionally destroy, hide, alter, 
abscond with or keep documentation, including birth certificates, 
visas, passports, green cards or other documents utilized in the 
regular course of business to either verify or legally extend an 
individual’s legal status within the United States for the purpose of 
trafficking a person in violation of Section 748 of this title.”  
Violation is punishable by a fine of at least $1,000 and/or at least 
one year of imprisonment. 

2. Amends 21 O.S. § 748.2 to establish an  emergency hotline number 
for victims, and to post signs with the hotline number in County 
departments of health. 

3. Amends 21 O.S. § 1488 to include “threatening to report a person 
as being illegally present in the United States” as a form of 
blackmail for purposes of these statutes. 

SB 956 (effective June 5, 2010) makes further changes in the “human 
trafficking” statutes.  These include: 

1. Amends 21 O.S. § 740 to define “coercion” for purposes of these 
statutes.  Among things, coercion includes: 

a. Abuse or threatened abuse of the legal process. 
b. Concealing or destroying government identification 

documents. 
c. Facilitating or controlling a person’s “access to any addictive or 

controlled substance”. 
d. “determining, dictating, or setting” the times or places when 

another person will be available for prostitution. 
2.  Amends this same statute to define “commercial sex”, “debt 

bondage” and “human trafficking for labor”. 
3.  Amends this same statute to change the age of the victim, for 

purposes of enhanced punishment, from “under 14 years old” to 
“under 18 years old”. 

4. Amends 21 O.S. § 748.2 to allow any person who is “aggrieved by” a 
violation of the law to bring a lawsuit, (the statute used to read “a 
victim of human trafficking”) and to provide that the statute of 
limitations for a civil action runs from the date of the victim’s 
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“emancipation from the defendant” or the victim’s twenty-first 
birthday. 

5. Amends 21 O.S. § 1738 to allow forfeiture of any vehicle or other 
property used to “facilitate or participate in the commission of any 
human trafficking offense”, and any vehicle used “in any manner by 
a prostitute, pimp, or panderer” in the commission of prostitution.  
However, the vehicle or other property of a “customer or anyone 
merely procuring the services of a prostitute shall not be included” in 
these forfeiture provisions. 

SB 1645 (effective February 22, 2010) makes several house-keeping 
changes to Title 21, related to the changes made in Title 10 during the 2009 
legislative session. 

SB 1928 (effective July 1, 2010) amends 21 O.S. § 443, which concerns 
escapes.  A specific punishment is provided for a juvenile who escapes 
from a “juvenile detention facility or secure juvenile facility, other than a 
community intervention center.  The punishment is 1 to 3 years. 

SB 2064 (effective April 19, 2010) amends 21 O.S. § 1125 (concerning 
registered sex offenders) in several ways: 

1. Extends the “zone of safety” around schools and parks to “permitted 
child care centers”, and expands the zone from 300 feet to 500 feet. 

2. Limits the amount of time a registered sex offender may be in these 
zones to a “reasonable time to complete” tasks like enrolling, 
delivering, or retrieving the registered sex offender’s child from 
school. 

3. Requires that the registered sex offender inform the school or child 
care center of his or her status, and provide regular updates about the 
“specific times” the person will be at the school or child care center. 
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Title 10A 
Children and Juvenile Code 

 
HB 2729 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 10A O.S. § 2-7-604 to 
provide that the use of “chemical agents and electroshock weapons” in 
secure facilities “operated by or through contract with” O.J.A. “shall be 
minimal” and such use is prohibited except as “specifically provided for in 
the rules of the Office of Juvenile Affairs”. 

HB 1741 (effective November 1, 2010) makes several changes related to 
juvenile law.  (if you work closely with juvenile matters, you need to read 
this entire bill.) 

1. Amends 10A O.S. § 1-2-105 to clarify that DHS Child Welfare should 
both “refer” families to services and “arrange” for those services.  If 
DHS refers and arranges for these services, and the services are 
“directly related to the safety of the child” and the family refuses or 
does not access those services, this can be the basis for emergency 
custody or the filing of a deprived petition. 

2. Amends 10A O.S. § 1-3-102 to make “the provision of psychotropic 
medications” a part of “routine and ordinary medical care and 
treatment” instead of “Extraordinary medical care and treatment”.  
The result is to make it easier to have such medicine administered to 
a child in DHS custody. 

3. Amends 10A O.S. § 1-4-304 to change the rules for publishing of 
notice of a deprived hearing if the parent cannot be found.  Upon 
court approval, publication must be made one time instead of three 
times. 

4. Amends 10A O.S. § 1-4-502 to limit jury trials requested by a parent 
to “the sole issue of termination of parental rights”.  If the Petition is 
to adjudicate the child as deprived AND terminate parental rights, 
the decision on adjudication is made by the Court, and the decision 
on termination is made by the jury. 

5. Amends 10A O.S. § 1-4-503 to provide that the rules of evidence 
apply only to adjudicative and termination hearings.  All other 
hearings pursuant to the juvenile code shall “be informal and the 
rules of evidence shall not apply”.  This amendment also applies to 
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proceedings under the Inpatient Mental Health and Substance Abuse 
Treatment of Minors Act if the subject child is “alleged or adjudicated 
to be a deprived child”. 

6. Enacts new laws to be codified at 10A O.S. §§ 1-4-712 – 716 to create 
a “family drug court” for the purpose of treating children 
“adjudicated as deprived and their families in cases where the parent, 
parents or legal guardian has a substance abuse disorder”.  
DHS&SHS is to assist in establishing these family drug courts.  The 
provisions are lengthy, but here are some highlights: 

a. A “family drug court assessment” can be ordered by the Court 
on application of the District Attorney, DHS, the child’s 
attorney, parent, legal guardian, or the Court’s own motion. 

b. If participation in family drug court is denied, the case 
proceeds as a regular deprived action. 

c. When ordered by the Court, the “family drug court treatment 
staff” is to determine whether: 

i. Reunification is the permanency plan and in the child’s 
best interest. 

ii. The alcohol or substance abuse of the parent, parents, or 
legal guardian is a “substantial contributing condition” to 
the adjudication of the child. 

iii. The assessment is to be done through a “standardized 
screening test and personal interview”. 

iv. The assessment is to determine the “elements of the 
family drug court treatment plan” and the parent, 
parents, or legal guardian “shall be required to comply” 
with that plan. 

d. Statements made by the parent or legal guardian during the 
assessment or during family drug court “shall not be 
admissible in any other case” unless the same statements or 
evidence is “obtained by the state from independent sources”. 

e. A family cannot be denied admittance to family drug court 
because of the inability of the family to pay court costs or other 
costs or fees.    

f. If admitted to the family drug court program, any “bail or 
undertaking on behalf of the child or children or family shall be 
exonerated”. 
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g. A family is to participate in treatment for at least six months. 
h. The Court may order “progressively increasing sanctions” or 

“program incentives” instead of removing the children from 
the home when a relapse occurs, unless “the conduct of the 
child or children or family requires removal” from the 
program. 

7. Amends 10A O.S. § 1-4-804 to change the date of notice for when a 
child in the custody of DHS is moved from one location to another.  It 
is changed from “two judicial days” to “five judicial days”. 

8. Amends 10A O.S. § 1-4-806 which concerns trial reunifications.   
a. The Court may extend the six month trial reunification period 

by an additional six months. 
b. The Court can remove the child to foster court when necessary. 
c. The Court, on expiration of the term, can award legal custody 

of the child to the parent, subject to DHS supervision. 
9. Amends 10A O.S. § 2-2-702 to allow the appointment of a court 

referee for juvenile cases in any county with a population of 80,000 or 
more. 

10. Amends 22 O.S. § 20, which concerns court procedure when a person 
who is the “single custodial parent” of a child is sentenced to 
imprisonment.  If the Court is not satisfied with the arrangements 
that have been made for the child, the Court is to refer the matter to 
DHS. 

11. Amends 43A O.S. § 5-511 to allow “teleconference” hearings for 
juvenile inpatient mental health proceedings. 

12. A lot of housekeeping changes to make references and section 
numbers match the massive changes made in the juvenile code in 
2009. 

HB 1964 (effective June 7, 2010) makes several changes related to juveniles.  
These include: 

1. Enacts a new law to be codified at 10 O.S. § 7800 which establishes a 
presumption that the mother of a child whose “paternity has not 
been established” has custody of the child until paternity is 
determined. 
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2. Amends 10A O.S. § 1-3-102 to make “the provision of psychotropic 
medications” a part of “routine and ordinary medical care and 
treatment” instead of “Extraordinary medical care and treatment”.  
The result is to make it easier to have such medicine administered to 
a child in DHS custody. 

3. Amends 10A O.S. § 1-7-105 to require DHS policies for child 
placement facilities to include “daily access to showers” and to 
“clothing which is clean”. 

4. Amends 30 O.S. § 2-109 to require that any Guardian of a minor be 
subject to a Court Order requiring a review of any transfer of 
permanent care and custody of a child with one year after transfer. 

5. Enacts a new law to be codified at 30 O.S. § 2-117 to allow a court to 
grant custody of a minor who has been “abandoned” (as defined by 
statute) to a qualified relative, and includes forms for that purpose.  
This new law also establishes court procedures for custody, review of 
the placement, and  possible recovery of the child by the parent. 

6. Amends 10A O.S. § 1-2-101 to provide that the existing reporting 
requirements do not apply to actions for “custody by abandonment”. 

7. Enacts a new law not to be codified which establishes the “Adoption 
review task force”.  This is related to some recent cases concerning 
what expenses may be paid by the potential adoptive parents. 

8. Makes some housekeeping changes consistent with the massive 
revision of Title 10 in 2009. 

SB 1793 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 10A O.S. § 1-4-502 to 
provide that, if a parent requests a jury trial on a motion to terminate 
parental rights, and then fails to appear for the trial, after “proper notice 
and without good cause”, the person may be deemed by the court “to have 
waived the right to be present at such trial”. 

SB 1771 (effective June 8, 2010) makes several changes to juveniles and 
youthful offenders: 

1. Amends 10A O.S. § 2-5-207 (Youthful Offenders) to express the 
legislative intent that  a youthful offender not remain in custody of 
OJA (or supervision by OJA) after age 18 years and 5 months. 
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2. Amends 10A O.S. § 2-7-605 to provide that a juvenile or youthful 
offender who is AWOL from a placement can be detained by any law 
enforcement agency. 

3. Amends 59 O.S. § 540.3 to provide that a person who provides 
“services in a state facility or to children in state custody” is not 
considered to be engaging in the unlicensed practice of “therapeutic 
recreation”. 

SB 1938 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 10A O.S. § 1-4-101 to make 
the venue provisions on deprived actions mandatory instead of permissive. 

HB 2313 (effective November 1, 2010) makes several changes: 
1.  Amends 10A O.S. § 2-2-102  to provide that a juvenile delinquency 

action may be filed within one year after the 18th birthday if the act 
would constitute a felony if committed by an adult, or within 5 
months after the 18th birthday if the act would constitute a 
misdemeanor if committed by an adult. 

2. Amends 10A O.S. § 2-5-206 (youthful offender, ages 15, 16, or 17) 
a. Changes “Robbery with a dangerous weapon” to “Robbery 

with a dangerous weapon or a firearm” 
b. Changes “robbery with a firearm” to “robbery in the first 

degree” 
3. Amends 19 O.S. § 215.11 to change the reporting requirements for 

District Attorneys, related to funds received by the District 
Attorney’s office, and to require deposit of those moneys with the 
County Treasurer within 10 days of receipt. 

4. Amends 21 O.S. § 444 to make it a crime to remove an “electronic 
monitoring device” without court authorization.  If the underlying 
offense is a misdemeanor, removing the device is a misdemeanor.  If 
the underlying offense is a felony, removing the device is a felony. 

5. Amends 21 O.S. § 1123 to modify the elements of the crime of 
molesting children and similar crimes.  The provision that the 
perpetrator must be at least 3 years older than the victim does not 
apply if the crime is “accomplished by the use of force or fear”. 

6. Amends 21 O.S. § 1123 to include in the definition of “sexual 
battery” a crime committed upon a person at least 16 and less than 
20, and who is a student, or in the legal custody or supervision of any 
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“public or private elementary or secondary school, or technology 
center school” when the perpetrator is 18 or older and is an employee 
of the same school system.  The term “employee of the same school 
system” includes a teacher, principal, or “other duly appointed 
person employed by a school system or an employee of a firm 
contracting with a school system who exercises authority over the 
victim” 

7. Amends 21 O.S. § 1123 to include “lewdly or lasciviously” doing 
very creepy things to a corpse. 

8. Amends 22 O.S. § 996.1 to include a charge of child pornography in 
the “delayed sentencing program for young adults” (RIDD). 

9. Amends 22 O.S. § 996.3 to provide that any offender previously 
admitted to the delayed sentencing program for young adults “shall 
be ineligible” for that program for subsequent offenses. 

10. Amends 63 O.S. § 1-323 to allow the provision of “certified copies of 
birth certificates and death certificates” to the Attorney General or a 
District Attorney upon request “in the course of a criminal 
investigation” without cost and without a court order. 

11. Repeals 22 O.S. § 1291, 1292, 1293, and 1294.    These sections 
provided for “compromise” of a criminal action when the victim tells 
the court they have “received satisfaction for the injury”. 
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Title 11 
Cities and Towns 

 
SB 1812 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 11 O.S. § 34-104.  This 
section concerns disposition of property which has come into the 
possession of the municipal chief of police, and is ready for disposition.  
This amendment changes the requirements for mailing notice, on property 
worth at least $100, from “certified mail” to “first class mail, postage 
prepaid”.  As a reminder, the items which may be disposed of include— 

1.  “The owner of the personal property or money or legal tender is 
unknown or has not claimed the property; 

2. The property or money or legal tender has been in the custody of the 
chief of police for at least ninety (90) days; and 

3. The property or money or legal tender or any part thereof is no 
longer needed to be held as evidence or for any other purpose in 
connection with any litigation.” 
 

HB 2602 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 11 O.S. § 34-101 and 19 
O.S. § 547 as those sections concern hours a reserve officer or reserve 
deputy may work.  The former population requirements are removed so 
that a reserve municipal officer or reserve deputy may work no more than 
140 hours per calendar month. 
 
HB 3240 (effective November 1, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 
11 O.S. § 28-102b.  This law requires a person who has been convicted of 
DUI under a municipal ordinance to, prior to sentencing, participate in an 
“Alcohol and drug substance abuse evaluation program” from a certified 
assessor.  DPS may not reinstate driving privileges until the defendant has 
complied in full.  

SB 1989 (effective June 9, 2010) makes several technical changes to the 
“Oklahoma Police Pension and Retirement System”: 

1. Amends 11 O.S. § 50-101 to determine “base salary” on the “calendar 
year” instead of the “plan year”. 
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2. Amends 11 O.S. § 50-111.3 to require an “irrevocable election” to 
participate in the “Oklahoma Police Deferred Option Plan” instead of 
a simple election, which would possibly be revocable. 

3. Amends 11 O.S. § 50-114 to provide that no “minimum distribution” 
is required for 2009. 

4. Amends 11 O.S. § 50-114.1 to change the computation of “limitation 
years prior to July 1, 2007” and the computation of the “annual 
amount of the straight life annuity” to comply with Internal Revenue 
rulings. 

5. Amends 11 O.S. § 50-114.2 to allow a distribution  after December 31, 
2007 to be paid to a “Roth IRA”, subject to any IRS limitations.  This 
bill also clarifies how a distribution to a “nonspouse designated 
beneficiary” will be made, to comply with Internal Revenue Rulings. 

6. Amends 11 O.S. § 50-128, which concerns Police Officers who are 
war-time veterans, to comply with Internal Revenue Rulings. 

(a similar change is made in the Oklahoma Law Enforcement Retirement 
System found at 47 O.S. § 2-300 et seq.) 
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Title 19 
Counties and County Officers 

 
HB 2552 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 19 O.S. § 215.9, to allow an 
Assistant District Attorney, who has been trained by a state-certified 
firearms instructor (and that training meets the “minimum requirements 
for firearms training” as set forth by CLEET) to carry a firearm statewide, 
at the discretion of the District Attorney. 
 
HB 2277 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 19 O.S. § 547 to require that 
a Reserve Deputy who has not completed reserve academy must be 
accompanied by a “CLEET-certified deputy sheriff” while on duty. 
 
HB 3242 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 19 O.S. § 514.4 and § 514.5 
to include warrants for “failure-to-pay” to the list of warrants for which a 
county may contract with private parties to locate and notify persons who 
have failed to pay.  This also changes the amount kept by the private 
contractor from 20% to 30%. 
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Title 70 
Schools 

 
HB 2321 (effective November 1, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 
70 O.S. § 11-103.11.  This allows a school district to offer, beginning in 
grade 9, an elective course on the Hebrew Scriptures or the New Testament 
or both.  The teacher must be certified to teach social studies or literature.  
A course offered “shall not endorse, favor, or promote, or disfavor or show 
hostility toward, any particular religion or nonreligious faith or religious 
perspective”.   
 
SB 1313 (effective November 1, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 
70 O.S. § 3311.12, which authorizes CLEET to establish and host “law 
enforcement youth camps” at the CLEET training facility. 

HB 3343 (effective November 1, 2010) makes two changes in fees for 
private security and private investigator and Agency licensing fees. 

1. Amends 59 O.S. § 1750.6 to increase licensing fees and lengthen the 
terms of the licenses. 

2. Enacts a new law to be codified at 70 O.S. § 3311.12 which 
establishes the “CLEET Private Security Revolving Fund” which 
dedicates a portion of the fees to be used for “fulfilling all statutory 
obligations” pursuant to the Private Security Guard and Private 
Investigator Act, including training and education programs. 

SB 2199 (effective July 1, 2010) amends 70 OS. § 5-142, which concerns 
background checks for school employees. 

1. Removes the enrollment limit for purposes of background checks. 
2. Makes it a nationwide search and removes the requirement that the 

background check be limited to felonies. 
3. Any “follow-up” information received is to be forwarded to the 

employing board of education. 
4. Repeals 70 O.S. § 5-142.1, which had similar provisions. 
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Title 63 
Public Health and Safety 

 
HB 2529 (effective November 1, 2010)  amends 63 O.S. § 2-105 to require 
OBN to compile a yearly report of all “fatal and nonfatal drug overdoses” 
and makes related reporting requirements.  “The determination of a drug 
overdose shall be made solely at the discretion of the treating medical 
professional based on the education, experience and professional opinion 
of the medical professional. 
Also amends 63 O.S. § 2-106 to accomplish the same purpose.  The report 
is to be contain “statistical information” including county, age, race, 
gender, type of CDS involved, and the “method in which the controlled 
dangerous substance was obtained by the person”. 
 
HB 2571 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 63 O.S. § 1-238 to allow the 
“unclaimed cremated remains” of a military veteran to be transferred to a 
charitable organization “approved by the Military Department” of 
Oklahoma for the purpose of providing a “dignified and honorable 
funeral” at a veterans cemetery. 
 
HB 3251 (effective November 1, 2010) makes two changes: 

1.  Amends 63 O.S. § 2-302 to require that each entity which 
“prescribes, administers, or dispenses” methadone must check the 
prescription profile of the patient on the OBNDD central repository. 

2. Enacts a new law to be codified at 63 O.S. § 2-101.2.  This law makes 
it a crime for a retailer to “offer for retail sale to any patron a glass 
tube as defined in the statute.  This is a misdemeanor punishable by 
up to one year and/or a fine of at least $1,000.  A “glass tube” is 
defined as: 
“an object which meets all of the following requirements: 
 

a. a hollow glass cylinder, either open or closed at either end, 
b. not less than two (2) nor more than seven (7) inches in 

length, 
c. not less than one-eighth (1/8) inch nor more than three-

fourths (3/4) inch in diameter, 
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d. may be used to facilitate, or intended or designed to 
facilitate, violations of the Uniform Controlled Dangerous 
Substances Act including, but not limited to, processing, 
preparing, testing, analyzing, packaging, repackaging, 
storing, containing, and concealing controlled substances 
and injecting, ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing 
controlled substances into the human body, and 

e. sold individually, or in connection with another object 
such as a novelty holder, flower vase, or pen.  The foregoing 
descriptions are intended to be illustrative and not exclusive” 

 
SB 1289 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 63 O.S. § 1-1950.1 which 
prevents persons convicted of certain crimes from being hired as  a “nurse 
aid”.  The prohibition used to be limited to convictions.  This amendment 
adds any crime for which the applicant has pled guilty or no contest, or 
received a deferred sentence.  The disqualifying crimes are: 
 

a. assault, battery, or assault and battery with a dangerous 
weapon, 

b. aggravated assault and battery, 
c. murder or attempted murder, 
d. manslaughter, except involuntary manslaughter, 
e. rape, incest or sodomy, 
f. indecent exposure and indecent exhibition, 
g. pandering, 
h. child abuse, 
i. abuse, neglect or financial exploitation of any person 

entrusted to the care or possession of such person, 
j. burglary in the first or second degree, 
k. robbery in the first or second degree, 
l. robbery or attempted robbery with a dangerous weapon, 

or imitation firearm, 
m. arson in the first or second degree, 
n. unlawful possession or distribution, or intent to distribute 

unlawfully, Schedule I through V drugs as defined by the 
Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act, 

o. grand larceny, or 
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p. petit larceny or shoplifting within the past seven (7) years. 

HB 2730 (effective November 1, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 
63 O.S. § 2-503A, which allows a law enforcement agency that has seized a 
vehicle in which CDS was manufactured to request OTC to brand the 
certificate of title with the notation “Drug Manufacture Vehicle”. 

HB 3380 (effective November 1, 2010) makes several meth-related changes: 

1. Enacts a new law to be codified at 63 O.S. § 2-701 which creates a 
registry for persons who, after November 1, 2010, “have been 
convicted, whether upon a verdict or plea of guilty or upon a verdict 
or plea of nolo contendere, or received a suspended sentence or any 
deferred or probationary term, or are currently serving a sentence or 
any form of probation or parole” for a crime (or attempt) related to 
methamphetamines.  A person on the registry may not purchase, 
possess, or have control of meth or pseudoephedrine, or similar 
substances, even if prescribed.  The restriction does not apply to 
compounds in “liquid, liquid capsule, or gel capsule form if 
pseudoephedrine is not the only active ingredient.  A violation is 
punishable by 2 to 10 years and/or a fine of up to $5,000. 

The registry shall be available to registrants who sell these products. 

Names may be removed from the registry after 10 years or after the 
expiration of a deferred sentence. 

2. Enacts a new law to be codified at 63 O.S. § 2-212, which allows 
OBNDD to do background checks on companies and individuals 
who provide janitorial services to the Bureau. 

3. Amends 63 O.S. § 2-212  to allow the use of a passport or military 
I.D. by a person who lawfully purchases pseudoephedrine-related 
substances. 

SB 1902 (effective April 2, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 63 O.S. 
§ 1-8-729a.  This law makes it illegal for any person other than  a licensed 
physician with certain specific training and skills to “knowingly or 
recklessly give, sell, dispense, administer, prescribe, or otherwise provide 
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RU-486, also known as mifepristone” to any pregnant female for the 
purpose of “inducing an abortion.    The law also provides very specific 
procedures for the administration of the drug, including the physical 
presence of the physician, and follow up., and reporting of certain 
circumstances. 

 No criminal penalty is provided, but  a cause of action is allowed for 
the woman, or certain relatives against the “person who performed the 
abortion in knowing or reckless violation” of the law, including punitive 
damages and attorney fees.  No such action may be brought against the 
female whose pregnancy was terminated. 

 This law also repeals 63 O.S. § 1-729, which was similar but provided 
for criminal penalties. 

SB 673 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 63 O.S. § 1-1013 to clarify 
that the term “public bathing place” does not include “spray pads or spray 
grounds” which are defined as “interactive recreation areas intended for 
use by children in which the water is supplied by a system of sprays and is 
not allowed to accumulate above ground”.  (Although not a change in the 
law, it is interesting to note that the definition of “public bathing place” 
does not include “public or semipublic baths where the main object is the 
external cleansing of the body”.) 

SB 1879 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 63 O.S. § 1-1939 to require a 
nursing facility to report any crime to local law enforcement 
“immediately”.  The facility is to make “every effort to preserve the scene” 
until law enforcement Officers have arrived. 

HB 2551 (effective April 13, 2010) amends 63 O.S. § 1-2505.1 et seq. to add 
a person who is a “registered emergency medical responder” to the death 
benefit formerly limited to an “emergency medical technician”.   
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Title 22 
Criminal Procedure 

 
HB 2827 (effective November 1, 2010) makes several changes to VPO’s.  
These changes include: 

1. Amends 22 O.S. §40.3 to add victims of domestic violence, stalking, 
and harassment to the list of people who may request an emergency 
VPO.  Also, deletes the requirement that the responding Peace Officer 
must file a copy of the petition and the Officer’s statement the next 
court day. 

2. Amends 22 O.S. § 60.1 to expand the definition of “stalking”.  Stalking 
now means:  “the willful, malicious, and repeated following or 
harassment of a person by an adult, emancipated minor, or minor 
thirteen (13) years of age or older, in a manner that would cause a 
reasonable person to feel frightened, intimidated, threatened, 
harassed, or molested and actually causes the person being followed 
or harassed to feel terrorized, frightened, intimidated, threatened, 
harassed or molested.  Stalking also means a course of conduct 
composed of a series of two or more separate acts over a period of 
time, however short, evidencing a continuity of purpose or 
unconsented contact with a person that is initiated or continued 
without the consent of the individual or in disregard of the expressed 
desire of the individual that the contact be avoided or discontinued.  
Unconsented contact or course of conduct includes, but is not limited 
to: 

a. following or appearing within the sight of that individual, 
b. approaching or confronting that individual in a public 

place or on private property, 
c. appearing at the workplace or residence of that individual, 
d. entering onto or remaining on property owned, leased, or 

occupied by that individual, 
e. contacting that individual by telephone, 
f. sending mail or electronic communications to that 

individual, or 
g. placing an object on, or delivering an object to, property 

owned, leased or occupied by that individual; 
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3. Amends 22 O.S. § 60.2 to provide that a VPO may order the 
Respondent “make no contact with” an animal “owned, possessed, 
leased, kept, or held by the Petitioner, the Respondent, or a minor 
child residing in the residence”, and forbidding the Respondent from 
“taking, transferring, encumbering, concealing, molesting, attacking, 
striking, threatening, harming, or otherwise disposing” of the animal. 

4. Amends 22 O.S. § 60.15 to include victims of “rape, forcible sodomy, 
or stalking” to the list of persons to be given a victim notice of rights. 

5. Amends 22 O.S. § 1105 to allow the judge, when determining bond 
for a person arrested for domestic violence, or violation of a VPO, to 
consider: 
“1.  Whether the person has a history of domestic violence or a history 
of other violent acts; 
2.  The mental health of the person; 
3.  Whether the person has a history of violating the orders of any 
court or governmental entity; 
4.  Whether the person is potentially a threat to any other person; 
5.  Whether the person has a history of abusing alcohol or any 
controlled substance; 
6.  Whether the person has access to deadly weapons or a history of 
using deadly weapons; 
7.  The severity of the alleged violence that is the basis of the alleged 
offense including, but not limited to: 

a. the duration of the alleged violent incident, 
b. whether the alleged violent incident involved serious 

physical injury, 
c. whether the alleged violent incident involved sexual 

assault, 
d. whether the alleged violent incident involved 

strangulation, 
e. whether the alleged violent incident involved abuse 

during the pregnancy of the alleged victim, 
f. whether the alleged violent incident involved the abuse of 

pets, or 
g. whether the alleged violent incident involved forcible 

entry to gain access to the alleged victim; 
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8.  Whether a separation of the person from the alleged victim or a 
termination of the relationship between the person and the alleged 
victim has recently occurred or is pending; 
9.  Whether the person has exhibited obsessive or controlling 
behaviors toward the alleged victim including, but not limited to, 
stalking, surveillance, or isolation of the alleged victim; 
10.  Whether the person has expressed suicidal or homicidal ideations; 
and 
11.  Any information contained in the complaint and any police 
reports, affidavits, or other documents accompanying the complaint.” 

 
HB 2865 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 22 O.S. § 152 to provide 
that any prosecution for “criminal violations in which a deadly weapon is 
used to commit a felony” (or an attempt) must be commenced within 7 
years of the commission of the crime. 
 
HB 3340 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 22 O.S. § 751 to include 
reports containing data collected and required to be transmitted by a 
“registrant” to OBNDD Central Repository set up pursuant to the “Anti-
Drug Diversion Act” to the list of reports which can be presented at a court 
hearing without the testimony of the party reporting.  This act also amends 
63 O.S. § 2-309E to make the Director of OBNDD, or the Director’s 
designee, the “keeper of the records”. 
 
HB 2168 (effective November 1, 2010) amends two sections related to 
sentencing. 

1.  Amends 22 O.S. § 991c to allow deferral of judgment and sentence 
for up to 10 years, instead of 5 years. 

2. Amends 21 O.S. § 644 to provide that any previous conviction under 
this statute may be used as a sentence enhancer for a term of 10 years 
following the “completion of any court imposed probationary term”.  
An older conviction can be used as an enhancer if, in the meantime, 
the person has been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor of moral 
turpitude. 

3. Makes some technical housekeeping changes. 
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HB 2837 (effective November 1, 2010) amends  22 O.S. § 991a and 12 O.S. 
§ 1510.1  to require that a “Crime stoppers organization” be certified by the 
Oklahoma Crime Stoppers Association by meeting the “certification 
standards”  of that Association. 
 
HB 2934 (effective November 1, 2010) makes changes in Sex Offender 
Registration laws. 

1. Amends 22 O.S. § 991a to require that a registered sex offender give 
information on email or similar internet communication 
identifications. 

2. Amends 57 O.S. § 584 to require the same information, and also 
allows DOC to release this information to an “internet entity” upon a 
request that gives information specified in the statute. 

 
HB 3158 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 22 O.S.  § 471.6 to allow the 
judge to extend the term of supervision for no more than 6 months (past 
the former limit of 1 year).  No “treatment dollars” may be used during this 
extension. 

SB 2022 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 22 O.S. § 60.17.  Under this 
amendment, and upon application, the court may allow the victim of 
domestic abuse to “monitor the location of the defendant” using computer 
and cell phone technology.  The monitoring is limited to determining if the 
defendant is within a specified distance of the victim.  It excludes the 
“residence or workplace” of the defendant.  The court is to conduct an 
annual review to determine if monitoring is necessary. 
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Title 29 
Game and Fish 

 
HB 2861 (effective April 12, 2010)  makes several changes related to 
hunting and fishing. 

1. Repeals 29 O.S. § 1002 (denial or cancellation of hunting and fishing 
licenses for “habitual wildlife violators”) 

2. Amends 29 O.S. 5-203 to remove the provision for punishment of 
persons who violate the rules for use of a firearm while training a 
“bird hunting dogs”. 

3. Amends 29 O.S. § 5-402 to provide the penalty deleted from § 5-203.  
A violation of Section 5-203 or Sections 5-401 through 5-410 is 
punishable by a fine of $750 to $1,250 and/or 10 to 30 days in jail. 

4. Amends 29 O.S. § 5-402 to allow a court to suspend, revoke, or deny 
a hunting and fishing license if a person is found guilty of violation 
of these sections based on previous conviction history, not to exceed 
10 years.  Also makes provision for restitution (paid to the Oklahoma 
Department of Wildlife Conservation) and for applications for re-
instatement. 

 
SB 1594 (effective July 1, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 29 O.S. 
§ 213, which allows the use of crossbows and conventional longbows “with 
a device that permits the bow to be held mechanically at full or partial 
draw” during any open season when conventional longbows are allowed. 
This bill also repeals several sections which formerly prohibited use of such 
weapons. 
 
HB 2963 (effective January 1, 2011) makes a lot of changes in the rules on 
hunting and fishing licenses.  (If you deal with these matters often, you 
need to read the entire bill.  There is not enough space is this summary to 
list all the fee changes.)  Here are some highlights: 

1.   Amends 29 O.S. § 2-138 to clarify that a ‘member of the Armed 
Forces of the United States” and dependents are considered to retain 
their “residency status” for purposes of hunting and fishing licenses.  
This status terminates if the person obtains a hunting, fishing, 
trapping, or drivers license from another State. 
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2.   Amends  29 O.S. § 4-101 to provide that certain licenses expire on 
June 30 instead of December 31.  The list is simply too long to include 
in this summary. 

3.   Amends 29 O.S. § 4-110 to include certain nonresidents in the list of 
persons exempt from “annual nonresident fishing licenses”. 

4.   Amends 29 O.S. § 4-130 to allow a person “arrested for hunting or 
taking waterfowl during the open season on waterfowl without a 
valid Oklahoma waterfowl hunting stamp or license” to “purchase a 
substitute temporary thirty-day stamp or license from the arresting 
game warden” instead of posting bond.  Proof of “hunter safety 
certification” is not required for this purchase.  The cost for residents 
is $50 and the cost for nonresidents is $145.00. 

HB 1889 (effective November 1, 2010) makes several changes related to 
Oklahoma’s adoption of the “Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact”.  These 
include: 

1. Enacts a new law to be codified at 29 O.S. § 10-101.  This law adopts 
the Interstate Compact, provides a legislative statement of purpose 
(“to ensure compliance with the terms of a wildlife citation by the 
cited person who… could return to the home state of the person and 
disregard their duty under the terms of the citation”), defines terms, 
and gives procedures for both the issuing State and the home State. 

Upon receipt of a report of conviction from the issuing state, the 
home State may treat the conviction “as though it occurred in the 
home state for the purposes of suspension of license privileges” 

2. Enacts a new law to be codified at 29 O.S. § 10-103 which specifies 
the procedures for suspension of a license and provides penalties.  
Hunting, trapping, or fishing, or purchasing a license, or refusing to 
surrender a license after being suspended is punishable by a fine of 
$100 to $500. 

3. Enacts a new law to be codified at 29 O.S. § 10-104  which provides 
similar procedures and penalties for persons who do not comply 
with the terms of a citation from another State. 
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4. Enacts a new law to be codified at 29 O.S. § 10-105 to provide a 
procedure for appeals of suspensions issued pursuant to the 
Compact. 
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Title 43A 
Mental Health 

 
HB 2776 (effective November 1, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 
43A O.S. § 10-110.1 requiring the release of certain information whenever a 
person ”responsible for the care of a vulnerable adult” has been charged 
with a crime which results in the “death or near death” of the vulnerable 
adult.  This law provides a presumption that the public is best served by 
the public disclosure of information including: 

1. The circumstances of the investigation 
2. Any other investigations concerning the adult, “other vulnerable 

adults living in the same facility” or an “individual provider of 
services” within 3 years before the death or near death and one year 
after. 

3. The release of information is to be made by the Judge, the District 
Attorney, the Court Clerk, or DHS APS. 

SB 1601 (effective July 1, 2010) amends 43A O.S. § 10-110 to provide that 
records of investigations of crimes involving “vulnerable adults” cannot be 
expunged except by court order, and requires notice of such motions to the 
alleged victim, DHS, and Guardians.   

Also enacts a new law to be codified at 43A O.S. § 10-112 which 
establishes a “Vulnerable Adult Intervention Task force” to study how best 
to provide community referral, assistance, and intervention. 
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Title 2 
Agriculture 

 
HB 3210 (effective April 12, 2010) amends 2 O.S. § 16-26 to extend the 
term of a burn ban, passed by County Commissioners, from 7 days to 30 
days.  Also, allows the sale of fireworks during a burn ban. 

HB 2295 (effective July 1, 2010) makes several changes related to “farmed 
cervidae” (deer) 

1.  Amends 2 O.S. § 6-502 to clarify that the Oklahoma Department of 
Agriculture, Food, and Forestry is the department to handle these 
matters, and to specify how ownership of the animals may be 
proved. 

2. Amends 2 O.S. § 6-504 to provide specifics about the information 
required for issuance of a license.  It also allows the Department to 
license a person who obtained deer from a legal source, in good faith, 
but “failed to recognize a license was required”.  

3. Amends 2 O.S. § 6-505 to specify rules for the application and 
licensing process, including license terms.  This section requires 
annual reports on the animals and facilities.  Also, provides 
procedures for record keeping and transfer of ownership. 

4. Amends 2 O.S. § 6-508 to allow an “owner or operator” to slaughter 
their own farmed deer for personal or noncommercial consumption, 
and provides very specific rules on sale of antlers.  Carcasses may be 
disposed of by rendering, landfill, burial, incineration, or 
composting. 

5. Enacts a new law to be codified at 2 O.S. § 6-512 to require a pre-
licensing inspection, and inspection at least once every other year, or 
on any change in ownership or in the facilities. 

6. Enacts a new law to be codified at 2 O.S. § 6-514 providing for 
revocation of a license upon violations by the owner or operator.   

7. Enacts a new law to be codified at 2 O.S. § 6-515.  This requires that, 
upon the expiration of a license, the deer be disposed of (“in no case 
shall the farmed cervidae be released into the wild”), and cleaning 
and disinfection of the premises. 
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Title 37 
Intoxicating Liquors 

 
HB 2348 (effective November 1, 2010) amends several sections in Title 37 

1.  Amends 37 O.S. § 163.1 to allow the making of “low-point beer” by 
an individual for “personal use” if the person has a valid “personal 
use permit” issued by ABLE.  The total volume produced in a 
calendar year may not exceed 200 gallons.  This beverage may not be 
sold or offered for sale. 

2. Amends 37 O.S. § 163.3 to provide that “personal use” beer is not 
taxed under this statute 

3. Enacts a new law to be codified at 37 O.S. § 520A which authorized 
ABLE to issue a personal use permit for home brew of low-point 
beer, beer, fermented non-distilled ciders, and wine.  The applicant 
must be at least 21 years old. 

4. Makes some technical, housekeeping changes. 

SB 1964 (effective June 6, 2010) makes some changes related to caterers 
and restaurants: 

1. Amends 37 O.S. § 594 to allow a “caterer license” to be issued for 
sale, delivery, or distribution of alcoholic beverages “incidental to the 
sale or distribution of food” on an unlicensed premise.   To be 
eligible, food sales must constitute at least 35% of the caterer’s “total 
combined annual sales”.  Such a license may not be issued to a 
person “whose main purpose is the sale of alcoholic beverages or 
low-point beer”.  The caterer is required to submit an annual sales 
report, and to submit a monthly event report on all events scheduled 
“for the subsequent month”. 

2. Amends 37 O.S. § 598, which concerns licensee premises that contain 
a “separate or enclosed lounge or bar area, which has as its main 
purpose the sale or distribution of alcoholic beverages for on-
premises consumption” in addition to food.  Sales of low-point beer 
are to be counted separately, and are not to be “considered a food or 
an alcoholic beverage”.  If the licensee fails to show that it meets the  
qualifications, the “licensee’s main purpose shall automatically 
convert to the sale of alcoholic beverages”. 
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SB 2210 (effective July 1, 2010) makes some changes regarding liquor 
“package stores”: 

1. Amends 37 O.S. § 534 to provide that the spouse of a package store 
license holder cannot hold another license, except a “package store 
license, beer and wine license, or a mixed beverage license”. 

2. Amends 37 O.S. § 537 to be open and make sales on election day,  
unless otherwise prohibited from opening. 

3. Amends 37 O.S. § 591 to allow sale of liquor by the drink (in 
Counties where allowed) on election day, if sales on that day are not 
otherwise prohibited. 
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Title 74 
State Government 

 
HB 2330 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 74 O.S. § 150.23 to include a 
retiree from the “office of Inspector General and the Oklahoma Child 
Support Services divisions of the Department of Human Services” to the 
list of persons who may retain their firearm and badge upon retirement. 
 
HB 3294 (effective May 10, 2010) amends 74 O.S. § 150.5 to allow the use 
of OSBI records in two specific circumstances: 

1. “training or educational purposes” if at least 10 years has passed 
since “production of the information or record”. 

2. If release of the information has been “authorized by the Director of 
the Bureau for purposes of developing or obtaining further 
information reasonably necessary to the successful conclusion” of an 
investigation being conducted by OBNDD. 

 
HB 2698  (effective November 1, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 
74 O.S. § 3106.3 et seq. which requires any “public body” that uses a 
general website to include the following  information on the website by 
January 1, 2011 
 -any administrative rules used by the public body to operate 
 -proposed administrative rules 
 -statutes affecting the public body and its operations 

-statutes the public “may find useful in interacting with the public 
body. 

“Public Body” is defined in 25 O.S. § 304: 

“1. ’Public body’ means the governing bodies of all municipalities 
located within this state, boards of county commissioners of the 
counties in this state, boards of public and higher education in this 
state and all boards, bureaus, commissions, agencies, trusteeships, 
authorities, councils, committees, public trusts or any entity created 
by a public trust, task forces or study groups in this state supported 
in whole or in part by public funds or entrusted with the expending 
of public funds, or administering public property, and shall include 
all committees or subcommittees of any public body. …” 
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Title 12 
Civil Procedure 

SB 994 (effective November  1, 2010) amends 12 O.S. § 2503, which relates 
to the physician-patient privilege.  This change makes any communication, 
the disclosure of which would be allowed under “state and federal privacy 
law”, not subject to the evidentiary privilege. 

HB 2572  (effective November 1, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 
12 O.S. § 3011, which makes inadmissible “evidence of assemblage in the 
exercise of free speech or display of religious beliefs” so long as it is “not 
connected to the direct conduct of planning, conspiring, or committing an 
act of violence as prescribed by law”. 

SB 2039 (effective November 1, 2010) makes several changes related to 
subpoenas, discovery requests, and production of evidence: 

1. Amends 12 O.S. § 158.1 to allow for licensing of a state-wide process 
server, in addition to the county-wide process server.  The license fee 
for state-wide is $150.00.  The amendment provides procedures for 
notice and protests of the application. 

2. Amends 12 O.S. § 2004.1 to cover production of evidentiary materials 
in electronic format.  A person responding to a subpoena: 

a. May produce the information in a form “in which the person 
ordinarily maintains it’ or that is “reasonably usable”. 

b. Is not required to produce the “same electronically stored 
information in more than one form”. 

c. Is not required to produce information that “is not reasonably 
accessible because of undue burden or cost”.  In this instance, 
the court may specify conditions for production of the 
materials. 

d. Is not required to immediately produce information which may 
be privileged.  In this instance, the person is required to give 
notice of the claim of privilege and may present it to the court 
under seal until the question of privilege is resolved. 
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3. Amends this same statute to allow the court to make specific orders 
if the production of materials is unduly burdensome, duplicative, or 
the expense of producing the materials  “outweighs its likely benefit” 

4. Amends this same statute to allow the recording of a deposition by 
some method “in addition to stenographic means”.  Notice must be 
given before the deposition. 

5. Amends this same statute to provide that a court, in the absence of 
exceptional circumstances, “may not impose sanctions on a party for 
failure to provide electronically stored information lost as a result of 
the routine, good-faith operation of an electronic information 
system”. 
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Miscellaneous 

Title 4 
Animals 

HB 3285 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 4 O.S. § 85.6 to allow a 
stray animal to be sold to the nearest “approved and licensed slaughter 
facility” if the owner cannot be determined after publication of notice. 

Title 57 
Prisons 
 
HB 2968 (effective November 1, 2010) amends a few sections in Title 57  
to tighten up the rules on registration of sex offenders.   

1. Amends 57 O.S. § 584 to require that a registration include a 
“mappable address and a zip code” 

2. Amends 57 O.S. § 290 to add a “property or campsite used by an 
organization whose primary purpose is working with children” to 
the list of places for the 2000 foot limit. 

 
HB 2998 (effective November 1, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 
57 O.S. § 510.8b.  This law requires DOC to set up a “pilot program” to 
address the problem of “increased community diversion programs and 
reentry services” for incarcerated persons (or persons about to be 
incarcerated) who are the “primary caregivers” of minor children. 
 

Title 51 
Officers 
 
HB 2541 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 51 O.S. § 24A.29 to require 
municipal courts to keep confidential (except to report to the Oklahoma 
Tax Commission for “purposes of collection of municipal court fees”) the 
following information: 

1. Credit card numbers 
2. Social security numbers 
3. Bank account numbers 
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SB 499 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 51 O.S. § 6 to allow a 
member of the Council on Judicial Complaints to hold another state office 
without violating the “dual office holding” provisions. 

SB 2126 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 51 O.S. § 152 (the 
Governmental Tort Claims Act) to include a “technology center school 
district” as a political subdivision. 

Title 41 
Landlord and Tenant 

HB 3021 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 41 O.S. § 118 to require that 
a landlord disclose to a potential tenant  whether the landlord “knows or 
has reason to know that the dwelling unit or any part of the premises was 
used in the manufacture of methamphetamine”.    This disclosure is not 
required if the landlord has had the “level of contamination assessed” and 
it has been determined that the level of contamination does not exceed 0.1 
microgram per 100 cm2 of the surface. 

Title 26 
Elections 

SB 1921 (effective January 1, 2011) makes several changes related to 
elections: 

1. Amends 26 O.S. § 16-110 to increase the possible fine for a 
misdemeanor violation of this Act from $1,000 to $10,000. 

2. Amends 26 O.S. § 16-101 to increase the penalty for a felony violation 
of this Act from up  to 2 years and/or a fine of up to $5,000 to up  to 5 
years and/or a fine of up to $50,000. 

3. Amends 26 O.S. § 16-102 to provide that any person who 
“knowingly votes and submits an absentee ballot issued to another 
person shall be deemed guilty of a felony”. 

4. Enacts a new law to be codified at 26 O.S. § 16-102.1.  This law 
provides that any “unauthorized person” who removes a ballot from 
a polling place or knowingly carries a ballot into a polling place” is 
guilty of a felony. 
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5. Enacts a new law to be codified at 26 O.S. § 16-102.2 which provides 
that any person who “knowingly executed a false application for an 
absentee ballot” is guilty of a felony. 

6. Amends 26 O.S. § 16-103 to require proof that a person “knowingly” 
swore a false affidavit related to elections before that person can be 
convicted of the crime. 

7. Amends 26 O.S. § 16-103.1 to provide that any person who 
“knowingly causes the collection or submission” of false voter 
registration forms is guilty of a felony. 

8. Amends 26 O.S. § 16-105 to include conspiracy to commit fraud in an 
election to the list of felony crimes. 

Title 28 
Fees 

HB 2944 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 28 O.S. § 84.1 to require 
that court appearances of “public school district employees” should be 
scheduled to minimize the disruption of class time.  If such an employee is 
subpoenaed in a civil case (unless the school or district is a party) the 
school district shall be entitled to a witness fee equal to the “amount of the 
substitute teacher cost”, not to exceed $100 per day. 

Title 85 
Workers’ Compensation 

HB 2650 (effective November 1, 2010) makes several changes to tighten the  
workers’ compensation laws, including: 

1. Amends 85 O.S. § 12 to limit the circumstances in which an injured 
employee can file suit in District Court (instead of workers’ 
compensation court).  An “intentional tort” which would allow such 
a lawsuit is limited to an injury which was a result of “willful, 
deliberate, specific intent of the employer to cause such injury”.  The 
fact that the employer had knowledge that such injury “was 
substantially certain to result from its conduct shall not constitute an 
intentional tort”.  The issue of whether an act was an intentional tort 
is a question of law for the court. 
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2. Amends 85 O.S. § 11 to limit “scope of employment” for workers’ 
compensation cases.    The “scope of employment” is deemed to 
commence when the employee “arrives at the employee’s place of 
employment to report for work and shall terminate when the 
employee leaves the employee’s place of employment.” 

a. When the employer instructs the employee to work at another 
location, the employee is considered in the “scope of 
employment” while the employee “is engaged in the 
performance of job duties directly related to the task” assigned, 
including “travel time that is solely related and necessary to the 
employee’s performance of the task”. 

b. Travel by a policeman, fireman, or a member of a first aid or 
rescue squad, in responding to and returning from an 
emergency” is considered in the “scope of employment”. 

3. Amends 85 O.S. § 3 to provide guidelines for “objective” evaluation 
of injuries, including the provision that, “when considering physical 
or anatomical impairment, a physician or other medical provider, 
and the courts, may not “consider complaints of pain”. 

Title 36 
Insurance 

SB 1251 (effective November 1, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 
36 O.S. § 6060.10A.  This law provides that a health insurance plan may not 
“deny coverage, refuse to issue or renew, cancel or otherwise terminate, 
restrict or exclude any person” from a policy issued after November 1, 
2010, on the basis of the applicant’s “status as a victim of domestic abuse” 
as defined in Title 22.  A claim may not be denied on the basis that the 
claimant is a “victim of domestic violence”.  Domestic abuse cannot be 
considered a “preexisting condition”.   

The domestic abuse must have been reported to a law enforcement agency, 
giving the relevant facts, before this law applies. 
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Title 52 
Oil and Gas 
 

HB 2912 (effective November 1, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 
52 O.S. § 320.2.  This law makes it “unlawful” to intentionally or 
maliciously “injure, deface, alter, destroy, or tamper with” any safety 
equipment used in the “drilling or production of an oil or gas well”.  
Exceptions are made for equipment owned by the person, or changes made 
with consent of the owner.  No specific penalty is provided. 
 

Title 56 
Poor Persons 
 

HB 3323 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 56 O.S. § 183 to require an 
“authorized person” who accesses “service recipient information within a 
home record” to sign an acknowledgement that they are aware of the 
confidentiality rules and the possible criminal penalties for unauthorized 
disclosure of those records.  (It is a felony punishable by up to 2 years in 
prison.) 
 

Title 58 
Probate Procedure 

HB 2800 (effective November 1, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 
58 O.S. § 269, which authorized the executor or administrator of an estate 
to “take control of, conduct, continue, or terminate” any accounts the 
deceased may have had on any social networking or e-mail services. 

Title 68 
Revenue and Taxation 

SB 2253 (effective June 8, 2010) makes several changes regarding 
fireworks: 

1. Amends 68 O.S. § 1622 to conform the definitions of various 
fireworks to the definitions in CFR, and to clarify that the term 
“consumer fireworks” does not include “toy cap pistols and caps, 
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blank cartridges, railroad flares, model rockets, or “any novelty”.  A 
“novelty” is defined as a “device containing small amounts of 
pyrotechnic and/or explosive composition.  Such devices produce 
limited visible or audible effects.  These items must be approved by 
the United States Department of Transportation (DOT) or have been 
deregulated by DOT”. 

2. Amends 68 O.S. § 1623 to provide that “novelties” may be legally 
stored, transported, sold, and used.  This amendment also changes 
the dates when fireworks may be sold.  Licensed “manufacturers, 
distributors or wholesalers” may sell year round.  “Retailers” may 
sell from June 15 to July 6, and from December 15 to January 2. 

3. Amends 68 O.S. § 1624 to substitute the definition of “skyrockets 
with sticks” used by the Consumer Safety Commission instead of the 
definition used by the Department of Transportation. 

Title 76 
Torts 

HB 1658 (effective January 1, 2011) enacts a new law to be codified at 76 
O.S. § 32.1, which provides immunity for any “physician or health care 
provider” who provides volunteer services to an injured participant in a 
“secondary school function” who is in need of immediate medical aid, 
unless the acts involve “gross negligence or willful or wanton negligence”. 

Not Codified 
 
SB 2170 (effective April 2, 2010) enacts a new law not to be codified.  This 
act creates a Task Force on Standardization of Courtroom Security 
Procedures to study the current security systems for courthouses and to 
develop a “standard statewide protocol for security procedures.”  The Task 
Force is to report no later than November 31, 2010.  The bill does not say 
how Counties are to pay for measures which may eventually be required. 
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Title 59 
Professions and Occupations 
 
HB 2530 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 59 O.S. § 3021 to provide 
that the Elevator Safety Act does not apply to an elevator in an “existing 
building” of two stories or less that is “owned by a municipal public trust 
that is used solely for independent living apartments” for persons 62 years 
old or older. 
 
HB 3202 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 59 O.S. § 698.2 (“The 
Oklahoma Veterinary Practice Act”) to define “Teeth Floating”: 

“as provided by a nonveterinary equine dental care provider, means 
the removal of enamel points and the smoothing, contouring and 
leveling of dental arcades and incisors of equine and other farm 
animals.  It shall not include dental procedures on canines and 
felines.” 

 

Title 60 
Property 

SB 1541 (effective November 1, 2010) enacts a new law to be codified at 
60 O.S. § 199 which allows the creation and enforcement of a Trust “for the 
care of designated domestic or pet animals”. 

Title 25 
Definitions and General Provisions 
 
SB 1814 (effective November 1, 2010) amends 25 O.S. § 1301 to provide 
that “women affected by pregnancy, childbirth or related medical 
conditions shall be treated the same for all employment-related purposes 
as other persons not so affected but similar in their ability or inability to 
work”. 

HB 3052 (effective November 1, 2010)  amends 25 O.S. § 82.1 to change 
how the State Christmas holiday is determined.  The holiday will include 
December 25 and “the day before or after Christmas if Christmas is not on 
a Saturday or Sunday, the Thursday and Friday before Christmas if 
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Christmas is on a Saturday, the Monday and Tuesday after Christmas, if 
Christmas is on a Sunday” 

 
 
 
 
 
 


